Arthur Smith's Balham Bash: The Complete Series 1-3

Arthur Smith's Balham Bash: The Complete Series 1-3

A BBC Radio 4 comedy


Arthur Smith presents music, comedy and entertainment from his South London home - plus a special show from the Edinburgh Festival

Welcome to Arthur Smith's 26-bedroom mock-Tudor manor house, in the heart of international Balham. Behind his front door are a plethora of prodigiously talented performers, all ready and eager to entertain. There's jamming in the kitchen, laughter in the lounge and poetry on the landing - and a whole lot more fun and frolics going on upstairs...

Among Arthur's very special house guests are comedians Pippa Evans (as Loretta Maine), Milton Jones, Stephen K Amos, Micky Flanagan, Stewart Lee, Richard Herring, Andrew Lawrence, Tom Wrigglesworth, Jenny Eclair, Sean Lock and Kevin Eldon. Plus, there's vibrant verse from Benjamin Zephaniah, John Hegley, Elvis McGonagall, John Smallshaw and Kate Fox, and sensational songs and music from Glenn Tilbrook, Alabama 3, Sophie Ellis-Bextor, Scouting for Girls, Paloma Faith, Gomez, Nine Below Zero, Katie Melua, Alex Wilson and his salsa combo and Squeeze.

And in Arthur Smith's Edinburgh Bash, Arthur takes the audience on a tour of top-flight music and comedy from the festival's Fringe, including Emo Phillips, Russell Kane and Clanadonia.

Cast and credits
Presented by Arthur Smith
Produced by Sam Michell and Alison Vernon-Smith

Series 1 featuring: Pippa Evans (as Loretta Maine), Paul Sinha, Milton Jones, Glenn Tilbrook, Benjamin Zephaniah, Matt Holness (as Merriman Weir), Stephen K Amos, Nat Luurtsema, Seann Walsh, Micky Flanagan, Alabama 3, Stewart Lee, Reginald D Hunter, Sophie Ellis-Bextor

Series 2 featuring: John Hegley, Barbara Nice, Andrew Lawrence, Scouting For Girls, Paloma Faith, Miles Jupp, Tom Wrigglesworth, Elvis McGonagall, Doc Brown, Gomez, Henry Paker, Richard Herring, Nine Below Zero, Phill Jupitus (as Porky the Poet), Josh Widdecombe, Marlon Davis

Edinburgh Bash featuring: Kate Fox, Emo Phillips, Russell Kane, Clanadonia, Simon Donald

Series 3 featuring: Katie Melua, Roisin Conaty, Alun Cochrane, Nick Helm, Jenny Eclair, Simon Evans, John Smallshaw, Alex Wilson and his salsa combo, Sean Lock, Annette Fagon, Squeeze, Luke Wright, Billy Jenkins, Kevin Eldon, Imran Yusef, Kate Fox

First broadcast BBC Radio 4, 7-28 July 2009 (Series 1), 15 April-6 May 2010 (Series 2), 26 August 2010 (Arthur Smith's Edinburgh Bash), 4-25 April 2011 (Series 3)

© 2022 BBC Studios Distribution Ltd. (P) 2022 BBC Studios Distribution Ltd

About the author

Arthur Smith

Learn More

Sign up to the Penguin Newsletter

For the latest books, recommendations, author interviews and more