The News Quiz 2023: The Complete Series 110, 111 and 112

The News Quiz 2023: The Complete Series 110, 111 and 112

The topical BBC Radio 4 panel show


All three series of the award-winning satirical news show from 2023

Originally conceived as a one-off whimsy, The News Quiz is now in its 46th year and still going strong. In these 26 shows, host Andy Zaltzman gathers up handfuls of headlines and hurls them at the panellists, who promptly fling back punchlines, puns and persiflage.

Kicking off with a ‘Best of 2022’ episode reflecting on the highs and lows of a year in which Britain had two monarchs and three Prime Ministers, the team go on to peruse the biggest, funniest and most noteworthy events of 2023. Among the stories discussed are the UK strike wave, the conflict in Ukraine, the Israel-Hamas war, Nicola Sturgeon’s surprise resignation, Boris Johnson’s WhatsApps, HS2 grinding to a halt, the looming general election and BRITS IN SPACE – as well as the curious case of 200,000 stolen Cadbury Creme Eggs and the surprise appearance of a walrus in Scarborough.

Mulling over all this, and more, are some of the nation’s best comedians and journalists, including Anushka Asthana, Chris McCausland, Simon Evans, Andy Hamilton, Susie McCabe, Ian Smith, Scott Bennett, Ayesha Hazarika, Ria Lina, Mark Steel, Zoe Lyons and Ashley Storrie.

Production credits
Hosted and written by Andy Zaltzman
With additional material by Simon Alcock, Rebecca Bain, Davina Bentley, Catherine Brinkworth, Carl Carzana, Suchandrika Chakrabarti, Ben Clover, Cody Dahler, Max Davis, Kate Dehnert, James Farmer, Aidan Fitzmaurice, Alice Fraser, Jade Gebbie, Mark Granger, Adam Greene, Will Hall, Miranda Holms, Cameron Loxdale, Caroline Mabey, Stuart Mitchell, Eleri Morgan, Eleanor Morton, Alfie Packham, Vicky Richards, Christina Riggs, Rhiannon Shaw, Mike Shephard, Katie Storey, Peter Tellouche, Zoë Tomalin and Jennifer Walker

Produced by Georgia Keating, Sam Holmes and Gwyn Rhys Davies
Executive Producers: James Robinson, Richard Morris and Pete Strauss
Production Co-ordinators: Ryan Walker-Edwards, Becky Carewe-Jeffries and Dan Marchini
Sound Editors: Jerry Peal, Marc Willcox, Giles Aspen, John Hemingway and David Thomas

Series 110 featuring: Maisie Adam, Samira Ahmed, Kate Andrews, Anushka Asthana, Angela Barnes, Alasdair Beckett-King, Scott Bennett, Catherine Bohart, Frankie Boyle, Simon Evans, Andy Hamilton, Isabel Hardman, Ayesha Hazarika, Shaparak Khorsandi, Nish Kumar, Helen Lewis, Ria Lina, Camilla Long, Zoe Lyons, Alex Massie, Susie McCabe, Chris McCausland, Geoff Norcott, Andy Parsons, Lucy Porter, Hugo Rifkind, Ian Smith, Mark Steel, Ashley Storrie, Holly Walsh, Felicity Ward

Series 111 featuring: Kate Andrews, Anushka Asthana, Scott Bennett, Rachel Cunliffe, Neil Delamere, Andrew Doyle, Simon Evans, Alice Fraser, Freddy Gray, Andy Hamilton, Isabel Hardman, Rosie Holt, Ria Lina, Camilla Long, Andrew Maxwell, Susie McCabe, Robin Morgan, Geoff Norcott, Andy Parsons, Lucy Porter, Ian Smith, Ashley Storrie

Series 112 featuring: Anushka Asthana, Tom Ballard, Alasdair Beckett-King, Bethany Black, Daliso Chaponda, Andrew Doyle, Simon Evans, Alice Fraser, Ayesha Hazarika, Athena Kugblenu, Ria Lina, Zoe Lyons, Alex Massie, Susie McCabe, Chris McCausland, Robin Morgan, Rachel Parris, Lucy Porter, Hugo Rifkind, Ian Smith, Mark Steel, Felicity Ward

First broadcast on BBC Radio 4, 30 December 2022-10 March 2023 (Series 110), 28 April-9 June 2023 (Series 111), 8 September-27 October 2023 (Series 112)

© 2024 BBC Studios Distribution Ltd. (P) 2024 BBC Studios Distribution Ltd.

About the author

BBC Radio Comedy

Learn More

Sign up to the Penguin Newsletter

For the latest books, recommendations, author interviews and more