The News Quiz: Another Vintage Collection

The News Quiz: Another Vintage Collection

Classic highlights from the topical Radio 4 panel show


If you have an appetite for sharp satirical comedy blended with vintage news items, be sure to sample these 14 archive episodes of BBC Radio 4's long-running panel show, chaired by Barry Took, Simon Hoggart and Sandi Toksvig.

This latest smorgasbord of editions, all first broadcast between 1980 and 2012, has for its subjects such delicacies as the Royal family, 'boisterous' TV presenters, Oscar acceptance speeches, pop stars, Teletubbies, the EU referendum, the 2010 financial crash, super-injunctions, ice cream vans and much, much more.

Joining regular panellists Alan Coren, Richard Ingrams, Jeremy Hardy and Andy Hamilton are a highly palatable collection of guest players including Gillian Reynolds, John Wells, Alan Rusbridger, Gay Search, Andrew Rawnsley, Clive Anderson, David Aaronovitch, Francis Wheen, Oliver Pritchett, Linda Smith, Mark Steel, Michael White, John Sergeant, Fred MacAulay, Rachael Heyhoe-Flint, Kirsty Wark, Carrie Quinlan, David Mitchell, Matthew Parris, Susan Calman, Bob Mills and many more.

Included among the programmes is a two-part News Quiz of the Year from 1980/81, as well as a 2000 edition recorded at the BBC Futureworld Exhibition. The original Radio 4 broadcast dates are 27/12/1980, 03/01/1981, 11/02/1984, 28/07/1990, 27/09/1997, 14/03/1998, 26/03/1998, 17/03/2000, 28/04/2000, 05/04/2002, 11/01/2008, 06/11/2009, 22/04/2011 and 29/09/2012.

Cast and credits:

Chaired by Barry Took, Simon Hoggart, Sandi Toksvig

Featuring David Aaronovitch, Clive Anderson, Susan Calman, Alan Coren, Valerie Grove, Andy Hamilton, Jeremy Hardy, Rachael Heyhoe-Flint, Richard Ingrams, Fred MacAulay, Oliver Pritchett, Andrew Rawnsley, Gillian Reynolds, Alan Rusbridger, Gay Search, John Sergeant, Linda Smith, Mark Steel, Bob Mills, David Mitchell, Matthew Parris, Oliver Pritchett, Will Smith, Peter Tory, Carrie Quinlan, Danielle Ward, Kirsty Wark, John Wells, Francis Wheen, Michael White

Newsreaders: Harriet Cass, Peter Donaldson, Charlotte Green, Brian Perkins

Produced by Lucy Armitage, Sam Bryant, Jenny Campbell, Lindsay Fenner, Armando Iannucci, Victoria Lloyd, Ed Morrish, Alan Nixon, Jon Rolph

Written by Jack Bernhardt, Dave Cohen, Lucy Clarke, Rhodri Crooks, Gareth Gwynne, Jon Hunter, Tom Jameson, John Langdon, Simon Littlefield, Paul McKenzie, Matthew Norton, 'Ola', Benjamin Partridge, Celia Pacquola, Iain Pattinson, George Poles, Elliot Powell, John-Luke Roberts, Simon Rose, Hugh Ryecroft, Andy Walton, Danielle Ward

Episode selection by Michael Stevens

© 2023 BBC Studios Distribution Ltd. (P) 2023 BBC Studios Distribution Ltd.

About the author

BBC Radio Comedy

Learn More

Sign up to the Penguin Newsletter

For the latest books, recommendations, author interviews and more