Go as a River

Go as a River

Summary

DISCOVER THE BOOK THAT HAS STOLEN HEARTS EVERYWHERE
THE BREATH-TAKING POWERFUL SUNDAY TIMES BESTSELLER

When a moment changes everything, how do you live the rest of your life?

___________

'A SWEEPING STORY OF SURVIVAL AND BECOMING' WOMEN'S PRIZE FOR FICTION
'SPELLBINDING' THE TIMES
'BEAUTIFUL' DAILY MAIL

1940s Colorado: Teenage Victoria Nash is the only woman in a family of troubled men.

When she meets Wilson Moon, a young drifter with a mysterious past, on a street corner, their connection is immediate. And dangerous.

When tragedy strikes, Victoria is forced to leave her home and face a decision that will change her life forever.

Loved deeply by readers, the reader follows the epic adventure of Victoria Nash, determined to save her family’s generational peach farm from destruction, as she falls in love, faces devastating tragedy, and finally faces what she must do to survive.

For fans of Where the Crawdad’s Sing and Great Circle, this is a heartwrenching coming-of-age story.
__________

Readers are loving Go as a River:

'An incredible read. Emotional heartbreaking, but very 'real' Five stars *****
'Oh, how i loved this book
. Going to be Christmas presents for all my family' Five stars *****
'After reading non-stop all night
, i'm feeling very emotional, still' Five stars *****
'From the moment i started reading, i found it very hard to put down' Five stars *****

Sunday Times bestseller, April 2023
Richard And Judy Book Club Pick, Spring 2024

Reviews

  • A lush tale of female resilience. Evokes the awe-inspiring beauty of the Colorado landscape with affection
    SUNDAY TIMES

About the author

Shelley Read

Shelley Read is a fifth generation Coloradoan who lives with her family in the Elk Mountains of the Western Slope. She was a Senior Lecturer at Western Colorado University for nearly three decades, where she taught writing, literature, environmental studies, and Honors, and was a founder of the Environment & Sustainability major and a support program for first-generation and at-risk students. GO AS A RIVER, her first novel, is inspired by the landscape she comes from and will be published in over twenty-eight territories.
Learn More

Sign up to the Penguin Newsletter

For the latest books, recommendations, author interviews and more