Circus of Mirrors

Circus of Mirrors

Summary

'Julie Owen Moylan writes about mid-20th century women like no-one else' Laura Price

PRE-ORDER the dazzlingly compulsive new novel from Julie Owen Moylan – perfect for fans of Cabaret and The Whalebone Theatre


'Sexy, electrically stylish, and beautiful - a gorgeous story about sisterhood, and a glamorous, evocative passport to a period we all long to get lost in'
Daisy Buchanan

'Julie's best novel yet' Georgina Moore

'A tale of two sisters and a city, all three of them so vividly drawn, I felt I knew them. An almost unbearably poignant story of missed chances, long-hidden lies and women fighting the odds to grab happiness where they can. Superbly atmospheric, with convincingly flawed characters that just leap off the page' Frances Quinn


BERLIN, 1926: After the death of their parents, sisters Leni and Annette only have each other. Desperate, but dreaming of better days, Leni finds work at a notorious cabaret: the Babylon Circus.


From the dancer’s barely-there costumes, to the glimmering mirrors that cover the walls, the Babylon Circus is where reality and fantasy merge. For Leni, it’s an overwhelming new world, and she’s happiest hiding in the shadows.

Until she meets the cabaret’s resident pianist, Paul. And so begins a tentative love affair that will play out over the next forty years. But, in a city whose divisions will define a century, can a love born within the feverish walls of the Babylon Circus ever survive? And can the bond between Leni and Annette – tugged in opposite directions of their own – also endure?

In Berlin, two sisters dared to dream of a better life – but where in this dark and dazzling city will they find their true home?


'An all-singing, all-dancing, moving and masterful book about two complex sisters living in incredibly complex times. Mid-twentieth century Berlin and the glittering world of Babylon Circus are brilliantly evoked and the characters live with us long after we've closed the book. Brilliant.' Anna Mazzola

'Bold, brave and absorbing' Elizabeth Buchan

'An epic novel, spanning decades as it explores with compassion and humanity the relationship of two sisters torn between the love and obligation they feel towards one another, and their desire for freedom and a better life that will split them apart' Louise Fein


PRAISE FOR JULIE OWEN MOYLAN:

'Touching, entertaining and hopeful' Sunday Times
'Dazzling' Good Housekeeping

'I was gripped from the first page' Sara Cox

'Psychologically astute and emotionally absorbing,' DAILY MAIL
'A wonderfully evocative, immersive novel that brings 50s London to life, from the smog and the nightlife to attitudes towards women' SUNDAY EXPRESS
'Emotional, immersive and utterly absorbing' JENNIFER SAINT

Reviews

  • Sexy, electrically stylish, and beautiful - a gorgeous story about sisterhood, and a glamorous, evocative passport to a period we all long to get lost in. Julie's such an incredible writer
    Daisy Buchanan

About the author

Julie Owen Moylan

Julie Owen Moylan is the author of three novels: That Green Eyed Girl, 73 Dove Street and Circus of Mirrors. Her debut novel That Green Eyed Girl was a Waterstones’ Welsh Book of the Month and the official runner up for the prestigious Paul Torday Memorial Prize. It was also shortlisted for Best Debut at the Fingerprint Awards and featured at the Hay Festival as one of its ‘Ten at Ten’. 73 Dove Street was a Waterstones’ Books of 2023 and a Daily Mail Historical Fiction Book of the Year. As a filmmaker Julie won the Celtic Media Award for her graduation film “BabyCakes” before going on to win Best Short Film at the Swansea Film Festival. Her writing and short stories have appeared in a variety of publications including Sunday Express, The Independent, New Welsh Review and Good Housekeeping. She has a Masters in Filmmaking and an additional qualification in Creative Writing & English Literature. Julie is an alumna of the Faber Academy. Circus of Mirrors will be published in Sept 2024.


Julie can be found on Twitter: @JulieOwenMoylan
Learn More

Sign up to the Penguin Newsletter

For the latest books, recommendations, author interviews and more