The Book of Doors

The Book of Doors

Summary

**THE INSTANT SUNDAY TIMES BESTSELLING DEBUT AND ONE OF THE BBC’S BEST DEBUTS OF 2024 **

‘Joyful, exuberant, and crackling with adventure.' STUART TURTON

'A truly magical book: exciting, intricately plotted and emotionally compelling.' THE GUARDIAN

‘A clever and beautiful novel about the power of books.’ SUNYI DEAN


‘Full of magic, wonder and heart.’ ANITA FRANK

‘A magical, mesmerising adventure from the very first page.’ A. J. WEST

‘A stunning fever dream of a story.’ LEE CHILD

‘A beautiful, unputdownable love letter to books.’ BETH LEWIS

‘A real page-turner – incredibly ambitious and inventive.’ ROSIE ANDREWS

-----

Because some doors should never be opened.

New York bookseller Cassie Andrews is not sure what she’s doing with her life. She lives quietly, sharing an apartment with her best friend, Izzy. Then a favourite customer gives her an old book. Full of strange writing and mysterious drawings, at the very front there is a handwritten message:

This is the Book of Doors. Hold it in your hand, and any door is every door.

Cassie is about to discover that the Book of Doors is a special book – a magic book. A book that bestows extraordinary abilities on whoever possesses it. And she is about to learn that there are other magic books out there that can also do wondrous – or dreadful and terrifying – things.

Because where there is magic there is power and there are those who will stop at nothing to possess it.

Suddenly Cassie and Izzy are confronted by violence and danger, and the only person who can help them is Drummond Fox who has a secret library of magical books hidden in the shadows for safekeeping, a man fleeing his own demons. Because there is a nameless evil out there that is hunting them all . . .

Because this book is worth killing for.

Addictive, brilliantly written and utterly irresistible, The Book of Doors is the spell-binding, mind-bending, heart-pounding new adventure that is perfect for fans of The Binding, The Midnight Library and A Discovery of Witches . . .

-----

Readers love The Book of Doors!

'This book has joy and laughter but will make you gasp too. I found it absolutely captivating and gripping.' ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐

'Beautifully written with memorable characters and a captivating plot.' ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐

'A fantastic debut novel from Gareth Brown, I can't wait to see what else the author will conjure.' ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐

Reviews

  • Joyful, exuberant, and crackling with adventure. This book is as magical as those it celebrates.
    STUART TURTON, author of The Seven Deaths of Evelyn Hardcastle

About the author

Gareth Brown

Born in Falkirk, Gareth Brown wanted to be a writer from a very young age. He wrote his first (unpublished) novel when in his teens and short stories while at university. For the last twenty years he has worked in the UK Civil Service and is currently Director of Screening for NHS Scotland. An inveterate traveller, he particularly relishes the experience of arriving somewhere new: those first few hours of culture shock and noise and bustle in an unfamiliar city - a passion that influenced the writing of his Sunday Times bestselling debut, The Book of Doors. Gareth Brown lives just outside Edinburgh.
Learn More

Sign up to the Penguin Newsletter

For the latest books, recommendations, author interviews and more