Code Name Foxtrot

Code Name Foxtrot

Summary

‘An exciting adventure with all the speed and style of Anton’s dancing’ Jacqueline Wilson


An unforgettable wartime adventure full of page-turning mystery, gorgeous friendships, great bravery, and dance – from the Sunday Times bestselling author and ballroom star, Anton Du Beke! Told with Anton’s trademark sparkle and warmth, with stunning illustrations by Elisa Paganelli, Code Name Foxtrot is perfect for fans of Ben Miller, Emma Carroll and Michael Morpurgo who are looking for their next classic adventure for all the family to enjoy.


A MYSTERY TO SOLVE. A SPY TO CATCH. A SHOW TO SAVE.


‘Maybe, by Christmas, the war will be over – and we’ll be back home with Mum and Dad, listening to the orchestra play and watching the dancers whirl round the floor . . .’


Britain, 1940, the world is at war and 10-year-old twins Harry and Rosie are evacuated from London to live with their Great Uncle. The twins immediately miss home and perhaps most of all for Harry, the tearoom where their mum works, and Harry spends hours watching the professional dancers – secretly dreaming of the day he might do the same.

Faced with stony silences from their Great Uncle Rupert and endless rainy days in the stormy village of Cotterill Cove, they throw themselves into the local dance show, determined to do their bit for the war effort and maybe even dance at the famous Winter Gardens in Blackpool.

But when Harry sees strange flashing lights out on the treacherous mudflats one night, he and Rosie discover their new home is hiding some huge secrets and the enemy is a lot closer than they thought.


Racing to uncover the truth, Harry and Rosie learn bravery comes in many forms and even in the worst of times, the show must go on.

Reviews

  • A really exciting adventure with all the speed and style of Anton's dancing
    Jacqueline Wilson

About the authors

Anton Du Beke

Anton Du Beke – the King of Ballroom, Strictly Come Dancing royalty, and household name – is one of this generation's all-round entertainers. A consummate storyteller adept at captivating audiences, his series of adult novels set in the 1930's world of the exclusive Mayfair hotel, The Buckingham, have been Sunday Times bestsellers. Now, working with his long-standing writing collaborator, Anton will take young readers and families on an unforgettable adventure with Code Name Foxtrot, his first novel for children that’s set on the Homefront during World War Two and full of page-turning mystery, gorgeous friendships, great bravery and dance.
Learn More

Elisa Paganelli (Illustrator)

Elisa Paganelli was born in Modena (Italy) in 1985, and since childhood books have been her best friends. After completing artistic studies she made a career in advertising and has been the founder and owner of a small award-winning design and trade business. She now lives and works in the UK as a full-time freelance Illustrator and Creative Designer, accompanied by her beloved dog.
Elisa finds inspiration in the tranquility of nature and integrates her passion for psychology and holistic approaches into her artistic vision.
Learn More

Sign up to the Puffin newsletter

Stories, ideas and giveaways to help you spark young imaginations