60 results 1-20

A Red Sun Also Rises

Mark Hodder (Author)

A man without faith. A woman without hope.

My name is Aiden Fleischer. I was forced from my home, moved among the victims of Jack the Ripper, was tortured by a witch doctor, and awoke on another planet. Throughout it all, my assistant, Clarissa Stark, remained at my side.

On Ptallaya, we were welcomed by the Yatsill. The creatures transformed their society into a bizarre version of our own, and we found a new home beneath the world’s twin suns. But there was darkness in my soul, and as the two yellow globes set, I was forced to confront it, for on Ptallaya...

A RED SUN ALSO RISES

... and with it comes an evil more horrifying than any on Earth.

Defiant

Dave Bara (Author)

Lt. Peter Cochrane and his new wife, Karina, are under attack.

When Peter and Karina escape an assault by a hostile government on his new command, Defiant, he travels with his wife to fend off an Empire attack on Skondar – which just so happens to be where his ex-lover, Dorbina, is stationed.

Worse still, the attack is led by Prince Arin, the Butcher of Carinthia. As dark secrets that could change everything are revealed, Peter must face the battle of his life – one that could save the human race, or doom it…

Book three in The Lightship Chronicles, a groundbreaking new-action adventure space opera from Dave Bara

Infernal

Mark de Jager (Author)

A daring new voice in fantasy, with an anti-hero like no other

Stratus wakes alone, with no memory of his past. All he knows is his name and that he is not human. Possessing immense strength, powerful sorcery and an insatiable hunger, he sets out across a landscape torn apart by a war, as a dark magic drives the world to the brink of destruction.

Disoriented and pursued relentlessly by enemies, he will have to learn what he truly is, or risk bringing the world into ruin...

Woman on the Edge of Time

Marge Piercy (Author)

Hailed as a classic of speculative science fiction, Marge Piercy’s landmark novel is a transformative vision of two futures. Harrowing and prescient, Woman on the Edge of Time will speak to a new generation on whom these choices weigh more heavily than ever before.

After being unjustly committed to a mental institution, Connie Ramos is contacted by an envoy from the year 2137, who shows her a utopian future of sexual and racial equality and environmental harmony.

But Connie also bears witness to another potential outcome: a dystopian society of grotesque exploitation. One will become our world. And Connie herself may strike the decisive blow...

The classic feminist science fiction novel – reissued on its 40th anniversary with a new introduction by the author. Harrowing and prescient – and often compared to The Handmaid’s Tale Woman on the Edge of Time will speak to a new generation of readers.

The Last Dog on Earth

Adrian J. Walker (Author)

***Pre-order NOW this bold, daring and original novel from Adrian J Walker, the author of the Radio 2 book club pick and amazon no. 1 bestseller The End of the World Running Club***

Every dog has its day…

And for Lineker, a happy go lucky mongrel from Peckham, the day the world ends is his: finally a chance to prove to his owner just how loyal he can be.

Reg, an agoraphobic writer with an obsession for nineties football, plans to wait out the impending doom in his second floor flat, hiding himself away from the riots outside.

But when an abandoned orphan shows up in the stairwell of their building, Reg and Lineker must brave the outside in order to save not only the child, but themselves…

He, She and It

Marge Piercy (Author)

In the middle of the twenty-first century, life as we know it has changed for all time. Shira Shipman's marriage has broken up, and her young son has been taken from her by the corporation that runs her zone, so she has returned to Tikva, the Jewish town where she grew up. There, she is welcomed by Malkah, the brilliant grandmother who raised her, and meets an extraordinary man who is not a man at all, but a unique cyborg implanted with intelligence, emotions - and the ability to kill...


From the critically acclaimed author of Woman on the Edge of Time, comes another stunning novel of morality and courage. A Pygmallion tale for the modern age, this classic feminist speculative novel won the Arthur C Clark Award.

The Devil's Evidence

Simon Kurt Unsworth (Author)

A stunning new thriller from the critically acclaimed author of The Devil’s Detective.

When a violent outbreak of fires plunges his city into chaos, Thomas Fool, commander of Hell’s Information Men, finds himself outsmarted by a shadowy new department called the Evidence.
Sent away to Heaven on a diplomatic mission he discovers murder has come to paradise, yet no one is willing to admit it. As tensions mount on both sides of the afterlife, can Fool solve the ultimate paradox?

The End of the World Running Club

Adrian J. Walker (Author)

The Number One Bestseller and featured on Simon Mayo's Radio 2 Book Club

THE ULTIMATE RACE-AGAINST-TIME THRILLER

When the world ends and you find yourself stranded on the wrong side of the country, every second counts.

No one knows this more than Edgar Hill. 550 miles away from his family, he must push himself to the very limit to get back to them, or risk losing them forever...

His best option is to run.
But what if your best isn’t good enough?

An original and powerful post-apocalyptic thriller, perfect for fans of The Martian

When We Were Animals

Joshua Gaylord (Author)

Nobody knew why, but when the boys and girls reached a certain age the parents locked themselves up in their houses, and the teenagers ran wild...

Lumen Fowler knows she is different. While the rest of her peers are falling beneath the sway of her community’s darkest rite of passage, she resists.

For Lumen has a secret. Her mother never ‘breached’ and she knows she won’t either. But as she investigates her town’s strange traditions and unearths stories from her family’s past, she soon realises she may not know herself – or her wild side – at all...

A Few Words For The Dead

Guy Adams (Author)

Section 37 is under attack.

Toby Greene, a Clown Service agent, is on the hunt. But catching someone whose bodyguard is the relentless Rain-Soaked Bride can be a deadly game.

Section Chief August Shining has problems of his own. Under investigation by MI6 and at the mercy of a mysterious entity, has his past has finally caught up with him?

Dark Touch

Debbie Johnson (Author)

It’s not easy finding out you’re a Goddess.

For Lily McCain, the move from local music journalist to being the incarnation of Mabe, Mother of Mortals was a surprise to say the least.

Thrust into a game of gods and monsters, the rules of which she barely knows, one thing is clear: if you have power, someone will try to take it from you.

A Daily Express magazine 'Must Read!'

Debbie Johnson is also winner of the Best Short Romance for Pippa's Cornish Dream at the Love Stories Awards 2015.

Find Me

Laura van den Berg (Author)

Things I will never forget: my name, my made-up birthday…The dark of the Hospital at night. My mother’s face, when she was young.

Things other people will forget: where they come from, how old they are, the faces of the people they love. The right words for bowl and sunshine…What is a beginning and what is an end.

Joy spends her days working the graveyard shift at a store outside Boston and nursing an addiction to cough syrup, an attempt to suppress her troubled past. But when a sickness that begins with silver blisters and memory loss and ends with death sweeps the country, Joy, for the first time in her life, seems to have an advantage: she is immune.

Laura van den Berg's critically acclaimed debut novel is at once a hauntingly beautiful portrayal of a dystopian future and a powerful exploration of loneliness.

The Devil's Detective

Simon Kurt Unsworth (Author)

WELCOME TO HELL.

Solving crimes was the purpose of Hell's Information Men, yet they almost never achieved it, and even when they did, the facts they scraped free were lost, buried again in the labyrinthine mess of the infernal Bureaucracy.

When an unidentified, brutalised body is discovered in Hell, the case is assigned to Thomas Fool. But how do you investigate a murder where death is commonplace and everyone is guilty of something?

Starbound

Dave Bara (Author)

THE FIRST EMPIRE HAS RETURNED.

THE NEW GALACTIC UNION HANGS IN THE BALANCE…

The Lightship Impulse is gone, sacrificed while defeating First Empire ships the fragile new galactic alliance hoped it would never see again.

For Peter Cochrane, serving as third officer on the Starbound and tasked with investigating a mysterious space station in a newly re-discovered system, the wounds of battle may have healed, but the war is far from over...

The Rise of the Automated Aristocrats

Mark Hodder (Author)

Burton and Swinburne return for their final thrilling adventure!

Sir Richard Francis Burton’s expedition has returned from the future, bringing with it knowledge of technologies which must remain secret for history to follow its natural course.
Betrayed by one of their own, Burton and Swinburne watch in horror as the Empire’s elite use this knowledge to secure their positions for all eternity, branding any who oppose them as enemies of the State.

Can their band of hunted revolutionaries overthrow the ultimate automated autocrat – their King?

Dark Sky

Mike Brooks (Author)

For the crew of the Keiko, their stay at the Grand House casino on New Samara was supposed to be a well-deserved rest.

It didn’t last.

Captain Ichabod Drift promised that the side-trip to the mining planet Uragan would be a quick in and out – a data retrieval job then back to the tables.

He was wrong.

When the revolution comes, all you can do is choose a side and hope to get out alive.

The Blood Red City

Justin Richards (Author)

THE VRIL ARE HERE.
THE WAR FOR HUMANITY HAS BEGUN

The Germans have lost control of their most deadly discovery. The alien Vril have awakened and are scouring the Earth for ancient relics.

From the Hollywood lights of LA to the bloody devastation of Stalingrad, Major Guy Pentecross and the team at Station Z must uncover the mystery and stop the Vril and Nazis alike.

Failure will mean the end of life as we know it.

The Supernatural Enhancements

Edgar Cantero (Author)

EVERYBODY LOVES A CONSPIRACY. DON’T THEY?

When Ambrose Wells dies jumping out of his bedroom window in Axton House, forgetting to open it first, a distant relative with an unusual companion takes possession of the gothic estate at Point Bless, Virginia. But as they settle into their new surroundings, excited by rumours of ghosts, suicides and secret societies, they find themselves not just part of a mysterious ‘Game’, but determined to win it.

The Rain-Soaked Bride

Guy Adams (Author)

HOW DO YOU STOP AN ASSASSIN THAT CAN’T BE KILLED?

Toby Greene is part of The Clown Service, a mostly forgotten branch of British Intelligence tasked with fighting paranormal threats.

However, the Rain-Soaked Bride is no ordinary assassin. Relentless, inexorable and part of a larger game, merely stopping this impossible killer may notbe enough to save the day…

The Clown Service is fun and rips along like thefinest episode of the old Avengers series’ The Independenton Sunday

Dark Run

Mike Brooks (Author)

The Keiko is a ship of smugglers, soldiers of fortune and adventurers, travelling Earth’s colony planets searching for the next job. And nobody talks about their past.

But when a face from Captain Ichabod Drift’s former life send them on a run to Old Earth, all the rules change.

Trust will be broken, and blood will be spilled.

1-20 of 60 results

Show 20 per page