The Glass Books Series

by 3 books in this series
#1 - The Glass Books of the Dream Eaters
#1 - The Glass Books of the Dream Eaters



three most-unlikely but nevertheless extraordinary heroes become inadvertently involved in the diabolical machinations of a cabal bent upon enslaving thousands through a devilish 'process':

Miss Temple is a feisty young woman with corkscrew curls who wishes only to learn why her fiancé Roger broke off their engagement ...

Cardinal Chang was asked to kill a man, but finding his quarry already dead he is determined to learn who beat him to it and why ...

And Dr Svenson is chaperone to a dissolute Prince who has become involved with some most unsavoury individuals ...

An adventure like no other, in a mysterious city few have travelled to, featuring a heroine and two heroes you will never ever forget..
#2 - The Dark Volume
#2 - The Dark Volume
With old loyalties tested by new and unlikely alliances, Miss Temple, Doctor Svenson, and Cardinal Chang must call on every reserve of courage to face a new and desperate struggle – after all, the integrity of their very minds is at risk.

From palace intrigue and a city in turmoil to wolf-haunted mountains, underground tunnels and a suspicious hidden factory, they must overcome war and heartache to battle old enemies and a host of new villains, all hoping to seize for themselves the power of the blue glass books. Now one glass book in particular drives them all, its deadly contents the key to controlling the secrets of the blue glass, or destroying it forever.

Praise for The Glass Books of the Dream Eaters:

‘A page-turner, a rollicking ride. As stupendous as it is stupefying’ Giles Foden, Guardian

'Fantastic . . . I was in seventh heaven . . . Somewhere between Dickens, Sherlock Holmes and Rider Haggard' Kate Mosse, author of Labyrinth
#3 - The Chemickal Marriage
#3 - The Chemickal Marriage
The final instalment of Dahlquist's fantastical adventure series, following on from The Glass Book of Dream Eaters and The Dark Volume.

Miss Temple, young, wealthy and far away from home, never wanted to be a heroine. Yet her fiancé is dead (admittedly, by her own hand), her companions slain and her nemesis, the terrifyingly wicked Contessa Lacquer-Sforza, escaped. It falls on her tiny shoulders to destroy a deadly cabal whose alchemy threatens to enslave the world. Miss Temple plots her revenge.

But Dr Svenson and Cardinal Chang are alive, barely - their bodies corrupted by the poisonous blue glass. Wounded and outnumbered, Miss Temple, Dr Svenson and Cardinal Chang pursue their enemies through city slums and glittering palaces as they fight to prevent the cabal's crushing dominion and unholy marriage between man and machine.

Dahlquist's rip-roaring adventure sees an assassin, an heiress and a surgeon battle against the world's most unholy evil, in their final quest.

Sign up to the Penguin Newsletter

For the latest books, recommendations, author interviews and more