The Detention Detectives

by 3 books in this series
#1 - The Detention Detectives
#1 - The Detention Detectives
Misfits and murder meet in this brilliantly fun new mystery series by debut author Lis Jardine. A perfect next read for fans of Sharna Jackson's The High-Rise Mysteries, Fleur Hitchcock's Murder in Midwinter, and Robin Stevens' Murder Most Unladylike.

Finding a dead body at my new school was a pretty rubbish way to start. But actually getting mixed up in the case? I was bound to get into deep, deep trouble for that!

Murder comes to Hanbridge High, and three Year Seven misfits want to solve the crime:

New boy Jonno hopes playing detective will convince his parents that moving to Hanbridge was a big mistake.
School reporter Lydia thinks her news story will sweep everything else off the front page.
And young carer Daniel needs the police to arrest the right culprit - for his mum's sake.

They may not be friends, but they're about to become. . .The Detention Detectives.
#2 - The Detention Detectives: Murder By Mistake
#2 - The Detention Detectives: Murder By Mistake
The second book in the thrilling contemporary murder-mystery series by Lis Jardine. A perfect next read for fans of Sharna Jackson's The High-Rise Mysteries, Fleur Hitchcock's Murder in Midwinter, and Robin Stevens' Murder Most Unladylike.

‘Top-grade misbehaviour’ – THE GUARDIAN


THE DETENTION DETECTIVES ARE BACK! And there's been another murder...

Headstrong LYDIA leads the new case. As a school reporter, she’s great at getting the facts. But when someone unexpected arrives at Gran’s, it’s clear she’s missing some clues…

Sensitive DANIEL is convinced this case is linked to their first. As a young carer he’s got a lot on his plate, so he needs the trio to work on this together. He just needs to persuade…

Not-so-new-boy JONNO, who’s settled in at Hanbridge High. But he’s so distracted by his new band – maybe solving crimes just isn’t cool anymore? Or maybe he’s scared of finding out the truth…

Can you solve the case before THE DETENTION DETECTIVES?
#3 - The Detention Detectives: Talent for Trouble
#3 - The Detention Detectives: Talent for Trouble
'Top-grade misbehaviour' - The Guardian

JOIN THE DETENTION DETECTIVES ON THEIR FINAL CASE…


Not only was I was concerned about the missing teenager, there was also the distinct possibility that we might be the only ones looking for him in the right place…

It’s been four months since the Detention Detectives semi-solved their last mystery. But their biggest suspect remains at large, and when a local teen goes missing the trio find themselves in a race against time to connect the clues…
  • Star Trek superfan DANIEL leads the investigation this time round, though his mood swings might be getting in the way of cracking the case…
  • Music-lover JONNO wants to focus on winning the local talent competition. It may seem silly to the others, but Daniel’s got the people skills and Lydia’s got the brains, so what do the Detectives even need him for…?
  • School reporter LYDIA is great at investigating a story. But with a very personal unsolved case on her hands and the newspaper to edit, she doesn’t have time for the boys’ dramas…
As the team are pulled in different directions can Daniel bring them, the clues and their skills together, to solve the mystery of the missing teen before it’s too late?

There’s mystery, murder and misfits galore in the final instalment of…THE DETENTION DETECTIVES!

Sign up to the Penguin Newsletter

For the latest books, recommendations, author interviews and more