Gods Beyond the Skies

by 2 books in this series
#1 - To Gaze Upon Wicked Gods
#1 - To Gaze Upon Wicked Gods
A No. 1 and Sunday Times Bestseller! Red Queen meets These Violent Delights and Iron Widow in an epic anti-colonial YA fantasy from debut author Molly X. Chang. This gorgeous hardback features special cover finishes, a secret foiled case and stunning full colour endpaper art.

'A thrilling tale of magic and murder, intrigue and betrayal.' Cassandra Clare

'Hauntingly poetic prose' Xiran Jay Zhao

'A tender and brutal fantasy that will leave readers breathless and eager for more' Rebecca Ross


Known as The Girl Blessed By Death, Ruying wants only to survive, but when her magic is discovered by an enemy prince she must decide if saving her family is worth betraying her country.

For as long as Yang Ruying can remember, the empire of Er-Lang has been occupied by Romans, whose advanced science and military make them Gods. But these Gods are not kind. Their only gifts: cruelty, opian, and destruction.

When Antony, the second Prince of Rome, uncovers Ruying's power, she becomes what she always feared: the perfect assassin. As tensions mount and rebellion stirs, Ruying can no longer deny that peace is a death sentence for Er-Lang. A death she may not be willing to deliver.
#2 - To Kill a Monstrous Prince
#2 - To Kill a Monstrous Prince
The highly anticipated second book in the captivating anti-colonial YA fantasy series Gods Beyond the Skies by Molly X. Chang, for fans of Red Queen, These Violent Delights and Iron Widow.

Praise for the first book in the series, To Gaze Upon Wicked Gods:

‘A thrilling tale of magic and murder, intrigue and betrayal.’ Cassandra Clare

‘Hauntingly poetic prose’ Xiran Jay Zhao

‘A tender and brutal fantasy that will leave readers breathless and eager for more’ Rebecca Ross

A thrilling gut-punch, both lavishly magical and devastatingly human.’ Laini Taylor

Sign up to the Penguin Newsletter

For the latest books, recommendations, author interviews and more