by 2 books in this series
#1 - Arkspire
#1 - Arkspire
Arkspire is a city obsessed by magic. The five Arcanists - a group of all-powerful magicians - have protected the great city for as long as anyone can remember. Within the hustle and bustle of these cobbled streets lives Juniper Bell, a thief who'd do anything for her family - even her unbelievably annoying sister.

Then one night, something incredible happens. A mysterious stolen relic (nothing to do with Juni, ahem...) explodes, revealing a mysterious creature, Cinder - who appears to 'bond' with Juni. The only creatures like that are allegedly dangerous enemies of the Arcanists . . . and its not long before they turn their attention to Juni.

Soon Juni, Cinder and everyone she loves are pulled into an extraordinary world of magic, power and prestige - but also grave danger. It seems the world Juni thought she knew is nothing but a lie - and now only Juniper and Cinder can bring it down.
#2 - Arkspire 2: The Order of Misfits
#2 - Arkspire 2: The Order of Misfits
In the magical city of Arkspire, Juniper Bell’s Order of Misfits have one mission – to take down the five powerful (not to mention evil) Arcanists who control everything.

Juni’s already survived one deadly Arcanist trial, and with mysterious shadow creature Cinder at her side, the rest will be easy. You just have to think positively about these things.

But the Arcanists might have more tricks up their sleeve than Juni had anticipated. And Cinder’s power is growing, along with his insatiable thirst for revenge. Has Juni bitten off more than she can chew this time?


Sign up to the Penguin Newsletter

For the latest books, recommendations, author interviews and more