The Kristin Lavransdatter Trilogy

by 1 book in this series
Kristin Lavransdatter
Kristin Lavransdatter
Kristin Lavransdatter is the epic story of one woman's life in fourteenth-century Norway, from childhood to death. Sensitive and rebellious Kristin is sent to a convent as a girl, where she meets the charming but irresponsible Erlend. Defying her parents' wishes to pursue her own desires, she marries and raises seven sons. However, her husband's political ambitions threaten catastrophe for the family, and the couple become increasingly estranged as the world around them tumbles into uncertainty.

With its captivating heroine and emotional potency, Kristin Lavransdatter is the masterwork of Norway's most beloved author and, in Nunnally's exquisite translation, a story that continues to enthral.

Sign up to the Penguin Newsletter

For the latest books, recommendations, author interviews and more