by 4 books in this series
#1 - Sword In The Storm
#1 - Sword In The Storm
The first in a four book series introducing the Rigante tribe, filled to the brim with epic and heroic battles, and mixing the intriguing worlds of Celtic Myth and ancient Earth Magic from the Sunday Times bestselling author David Gemmell.

You will be gripped from page one...! Perfect for fans of Joe Abercrombie, Duncan M. Hamilton and Conn Iggulden.

"Gemmell is several rungs above the good - right into the fabulous" -- Anne McCaffrey
"When it comes to heroic fantasy, few do it better than David Gemmell." - Time Out
"I was hooked from the first line..." - ***** Reader review
"Compelling from start to finish..." - ***** Reader review


Born in the storm that kills his father, Connavar grows up among the mountains of Caer Druagh, where the Rigante tribe dwell in harmony with the land and its gods.

But beyond the border, across the water, an evil force is gathering strength - an unstoppable force that will change the world beyond all recognition.

Haunted by malevolent spirits and hunted by evil men, Connavar sets out on a spectacular mission to defeat this new enemy... But he is a troubled soul, dogged by fate - will he be able to defend his tribe and save his people?

The story of the Rigante continues in Midnight Falcon.
#2 - Midnight Falcon
#2 - Midnight Falcon
Midnight Falcon continues the tale of the Rigante, which began in Sword in the Storm. Love, honour, blood and betrayal all play out in this heroic fantasy by the Sunday Times bestselling author David Gemmell - perfect for fans of Joe Abercrombie, Duncan M. Hamilton and Conn Iggulden.

"For anyone who appreciates good heroic fantasy, David Gemmell's offerings are mandatory." -- Time Out

"Gemmell is a master at what he does." -- SFX
"I have never read a bad David Gemmell book, but these are quite exceptional." - ***** Reader review
"This is a cracking read, great heroes and villains, magic, lots of action." - ***** Reader review
"So much happens I this book, couldn't put it down, brilliantly written..." - ***** Reader review


They called him Bane the Bastard - though none said it to his face.

Born of treachery, his name a curse, he grew up among the warriors of the Rigante. They valued his skills in war, but they feared the violence in his heart.

And when, as a Wolfshead and Outlaw, he left Rigante lands, they breathed sighs of relief.

But Bane would return, the destiny of the Rigante in his hands, the fate of the world resting on his skills with a blade.

The story of the Rigante continues in Ravenheart.
#3 - Ravenheart
#3 - Ravenheart
Ravenheart continues the tale of the Rigante. Packed with epic battles, hard, bloody steel, honour, magic and mystery, this heroic fantasy by the Sunday Times bestselling author David Gemmell is perfect for fans of Joe Abercrombie, John Gwynne and Conn Iggulden.

'Characterization, always a strength in this writer's work, is even deeper and subtler. In the realm of people-driven, solidly plotted fantasy fiction, Gemmell set the standard' Time out

'Gemmell has every right to take his place among the SF and fantasy greats' SFX
'For me one of the best writers of this genre' ***** Reader review
'Fabulous storytelling, excellent characters, this is fantasy at its very best' ***** Reader review


Eight hundred years have passed since King Connavar of the Rigante and his bastard son, Bane, defeated the invading army of Stone.

has since become a legend, and the Rigante have lost the freedom so many gave their lives to preserve. They live and die under the iron rule of the Varlish, their culture all but destroyed.

One woman still follows the ancient paths once trod by the Rigante, and she alone knows the nature of the evil soon to be unleashed on a doomed and unsuspecting world. She pins her initial hopes on two men: Jaim Grymauch, the giant Rigante fighter, and Kaelin Ring, a youth whose deadly talents will earn him the enmity of all Varlish.

One will become the Ravenheart, an outlaw leader whose daring exploits will inspire the Rigante. The other will forge a legend and light the fires of rebellion.

The Wyrd knows that ultimately all hopes will rest on a third man. Of the bloodline of Connavar the King, he will need to overcome generations of fear and hatred if he is to achieve his destiny.

For he is a Varlish nobleman, and - worse - the son of the Rigante's greatest enemy . . .

Have you read Sword in the Storm and Midnight Falcon - the first two tales of the Rigante? Their story concludes in Stormrider.
#4 - Stormrider
#4 - Stormrider
Stormrider concludes the tale of the Rigante. War and other-worldly magic combine in this heroic fantasy by the Sunday Times bestselling author David Gemmell, perfect for fans of Joe Abercrombie, Duncan M. Hamilton and Conn Iggulden.

"When it comes to heroic fantasy, nobody does it better than David Gemmell." -- THE DARK SIDE

"Gemmell is a fireside mythmonger; his characters and plots have the authentic feel of legends handed down through the ages." -- SFX
"As usual another Gemmell masterpiece.." - ***** Reader review
"Fantastic read from start to finish.." - ***** Reader review


Both Ravenheart and Stormrider are destined to be heroes, but one of them is doomed.

Centuries after Connavar's triumphant battles against the invading army of Stone gained the Rigante their freedom, the clan finds itself oppressed once again.

Magic that once flourished has been all but snuffed out. The Varlish king and his barons have stolen Rigante lands and robbed the people of their culture and liberty. From the Rigante's former seat of power the black-hearted Moidart rules; only in the north are the clansmen free.

There, in the Druagh mountains, the magic still reigns, strengthened by bold, brilliant victories of the outlaw leader known as Ravenheart. In the south, civil war has drenched the land in blood, and the armies of destruction are slowly creeping north where Ravenheart waits, believing the armies of hated Moidart will come, led by the brutal ruler's only son, Stormrider.

But these are not ordinary men. They are clansmen, and more than that, they are Rigante.

Have you read Storm in the Sword, Midnight Falcon and Ravenheart - the first three novels of the Rigante?

Sign up to the Penguin Newsletter

For the latest books, recommendations, author interviews and more