The Nursing Series

by 2 books in this series
#1 - Miss Nightingale's Nurses
#1 - Miss Nightingale's Nurses
Liverpool 1855. Ada Houston is alone.

Her grandfather has recently passed away and her brother is missing, last seen working on the Liverpool docks. Everyone assumes him to be dead.

But she will not give up hope.

Ada's determined search takes her to the Crimea, where she joins the team of Florence Nightingale's nurses. She may have set off looking for her brother, but along the way Ada finds friends, romance and a new purpose in her own life in the most troubling and difficult of places.
#2 - The Liverpool Nightingales
#2 - The Liverpool Nightingales
Liverpool, 1863

Maud Linklater's life as a housemaid changes forever the day she takes poor little injured chimney sweep Alfie to hospital.

Helping to care for him on the ward, Maud is unexpectedly offered a place as a trainee at the newly opened Nursing School run by Ada Houston.

Maud loves her new role, throwing herself wholeheartedly into the busy, exhausting experience of living and working at the hospital. And she has a lot of fun along the way once she befriends fellow trainees, including the sweet Alice and chatterbox Edie. Although it soon becomes clear that Alice is troubled by a secret.

And then little Alfie, to whom she is devoted, goes missing.

There is only one person Maud thinks can help her find him. Harry, the man whose affections she's been fending off for months.

Can Harry find Alfie before it is too late? And can Maud qualify despite everything that's thrown her way?

Sign up to the Penguin Newsletter

For the latest books, recommendations, author interviews and more