Reading lists

Where to start reading Louis de Bernières’ books

The master of historical fiction and bestselling author of Captain Corelli's Mandolin concludes his wartime trilogy with The Autumn of the Ace. Here's our handy guide to the series and what to read next.

Louis de Bernieres has concluded his most recent trilogy
Louis de Bernieres (© photo by Ivon Bartholomew) and his most recent completed trilogy

With a career spanning over thirty years, Louis de Bernières is the well-established master of historical fiction that makes you both laugh and cry. Perhaps best-known for his fourth novel, Captain Corelli's Mandolin, which went on to sell millions of copies and be adapted for stage and film, de Bernières has won critical acclaim and gained a loyal readership through his incredible backlist of novels, stories and poetry.

In 1993, de Bernières was heralded as one of the '20 Best of Young British Novelists' by Granta magazine. He went on to win the Commonwealth Writer's Prize (Captain Corelli's Mandolin, 1994), was shortlisted for the Costa Novel Award (A Partisan's Daughter, 2008) and the Whitbread Novel Award and Commonwealth Writers Prize for Birds WIthout Wings (2004-5). 

From series to standalone novels and short story collections, here's our guide to where to start.

The trilogy to curl up with...

Unforgettable epics...

Short fiction and story collections...

Station Jim by Louis de Bernières, illustrated by Emma Chichester-Clark (2019)

An illustrated story perfect for children and adults, Station Jim is a delightful, giftable winter read. It's the heartwarming tale about a mischievous dog who works on the steam trains. 

 This little black and tan puppy with its small bright eyes and very waggy rump becomes something of a hero in his town, and even catches the eye of the King himself.

More poetry and prose from Louis de Bernières

Sign up to hear more from VINTAGE Books

Sign up to the Penguin Newsletter

For the latest books, recommendations, author interviews and more