Susan Sallis

An Ordinary Woman
  • An Ordinary Woman

  • From the Sunday Times bestselling author Susan Sallis comes a wonderfully evocative novel, perfect for fans of Maeve Binchy, Fiona Valpy and Rosamunde Pilcher.

    READERS ARE LOVING AN ORDINARY WOMAN!
    "A remarkable story of love, life, pleasures and hazards. Strong characters who define this story. Excellent read and would strongly recommend Susan Sallis" -- 5 STARS
    "The storyline was captivating from the start..." - 5 STARS
    "This book held me from the first page to the last!" - 5 STARS
    "Very good story, loved every minute..." - 5 STARS

    ***********************************************
    WHEN NEEDED, WILL SHE BE ABLE TO RISE TO THE CHALLENGE?

    1945, Connecticut.
    A scandal breaks which forces a baffled Rose, aged four, and her mother to leave America and return home to England.

    The following May, a sister is born - Joanna or 'Jon'. Rose and Jon are like chalk and cheese. Jon is vivacious, fun, impetuous, rash and persuasive. Rose is reserved, steady, sure, reliable and...ordinary. It is her lot in life to hold the family together through times of tragedy and emotional upheaval.

    But, when, years later, Jon sets events in motion which send Rose across the Atlantic again and into the most extraordinary event of her life, can she ever be thought of as ordinary again?

Susan Sallis was the author of over twenty bestselling novels, many of them set in the West Country. She was born in Gloucestershire and lived in Somerset with her family. She died in 2020.

We use cookies on this site to enable certain parts of the site to function and to collect information about your use of the site so that we can improve our visitors’ experience.

For more on our cookies and changing your settings click here


Strictly Necessary


Analytics


Preferences & Features


Targeting / Advertising