Richard Gordon

Doctor at Large

Doctor at Large

The Complete BBC Radio Series

Summary

The complete classic 1960s comedy starring Richard Briers, the sequel to Doctor in the House

Richard Briers stars in this sparkling sixties comedy about a young, newly qualified doctor and his two best friends, Taffy Evans and Tony Benskin. When Simon Sparrow (Richard Briers) lands his first job as a ship's doctor, he soon realises life on the seas is far from plain sailing. First of all, he falls in love with the chairman's daughter, Wendy, but is distracted from his affections by the discovery that he suffers from seasickness, and is expected to perform surgery with only cutlery and a hefty dose of brandy...

Once safely on land, Simon joins a rather high-class medical practice, but finds life no simpler there. Will his accidental engagement to Wendy stand? Does his X-ray mishap spell disaster? And can he complete his surgeon's exam on the biggest day of his life?

A spin-off from the 1955 novel Doctor at Large and the subsequent television series, this sitcom features guest appearances from such varied comedy actors as Miriam Margolyes, Stanley Baxter, Joan Sims and David Jason.

A light-hearted comedy perfect for fans of Brothers in Law, The Good Life, and Marriage Lines.


Cast and credits
Simon Sparrow - Richard Briers
Wendy Swithenbank - Norma Ronald
Sir Lancelot Spratt - Geoffrey Sumner
Tony Benskin/First Mate Jock Hornbeam - Ray Cooney
Taffy Evans/Colonel Smith/Waiter - Edward Cast
Mrs Muir/Mrs Travers - Dandy Nichols
Mr Smith - Bill Fraser
Easter - Peter Jones
Edna Swithenbank/Mrs Russell - Joan Sanderson
Colonel Swithenbank/Colonel Brown - Dennis Ramsden
Miss Bottomley - Patsy Rowlands
Maria - Marjorie Westbury
Matilde - Miriam Margolyes
Mrs Hawkins - Ann Murray
Rosa/Mother - Madi Hedd
Dr Hockett - Stanley Baxter
Dora - Joan Sims
Receptionist - David Jason
The Duke - Howard Marion Crawford
Sir Raymond Beecham - Richard Caldicot
Kitty Buckingham - Fenella Fielding
Butler - Garard Green
Nurse - Rosalind Adams
Anthea de Beere-Sidebotham - Alethea Charlton
Mrs de Beere-Sidebotham - Ambrosine Phillpotts
Mr de Beere-Sidebotham - Peter Williams
Ward Sister - Kathleen Helme
Lord Crutchley - Ronald Adam
Sir Mortimer Huxted - Erik Chitty
Taxi Driver - Sam Kydd

Written by Richard Gordon
Adapted by Ray Cooney
Produced by David Hatch

First broadcast on BBC Radio 4, 4 June - 2 September 1969

©2023 BBC Studios Distribution Ltd (P)2023 BBC Studios Distribution Ltd