Alexander McCall-Smith

44 Scotland Street: The Complete Series 1-5

44 Scotland Street: The Complete Series 1-5

Full-cast BBC Radio adaptations of the much-loved novels


The complete BBC radio adaptations of Alexander McCall's bestselling series

Inspired by Armistead Maupin's Tales of the City, 44 Scotland Street started life as a serial in The Scotsman. It was a huge hit, and was soon novelised, adapted on stage and dramatised for BBC Radio 4. Collected here are all five radio series, in which we follow the interconnected lives of the residents of adjoining flats in a tenement in Edinburgh's Georgian New Town.

There's Pat, a young tenant who arrives at 44 Scotland Street to flat-share with handsome surveyor Bruce (a man with more of an eye for the ladies than for a sound property); Matthew, setting up the Something Special Gallery with little knowledge of art; and child prodigy Bertie Pollock, who wants the life of an ordinary little boy, but instead has psychotherapy, yoga and Italian conversation lessons. And at the local café, owner Big Lou is looking for love - but seems doomed to romantic disappointment...

Their chance day-to-day criss-crossings, quirky foibles and comic adventures are all observed by Number 44's longest-term resident, anthropologist Domenica MacDonald, her painter friend Angus Lordie - and Angus' dog, Cyril, the only canine in Scotland with a gold tooth.

Full of charm, humour and empathy, these delightful dramas star Carol Ann Crawford and Crawford Logan, with a superb cast including James Mackenzie, Samuel Keefe, Belle Jones and Anita Vettesse.

Also included is an edition of Radio 4's Bookclub, in which Alexander McCall Smith talks about his novel 44 Scotland Street with James Naughtie and readers.

Written and dramatised by Alexander McCall Smith
Produced and directed by David Ian Neville
Music by Tom Cunningham

Domenica/Mrs MacGillvray - Carol Ann Crawford
Raeburn Todd/Dr Fairbairn/Angus Lordie/Glasgow Man/Dr Fairbairn - Crawford Logan
Bruce - James Mackenzie/James Rottger
Ian Rankin - James Mackenzie
Irene - Rosalind Syndney/Emma Currie
Bertie - Euan Lee/Simon Kerr
Matthew - Samuel Keefe
Pat - Belle Jones
Stuart - Tom Freeman/David Jackson Young
Big Lou/Antonia/Miss Harmony/Glasgow Woman/Stewardess/Fiona/Claire/Barmaid - Anita Vettesse
Markus/Lawyer - Matthew Zajac
Social Worker - Molly Innes
Olive - Sophie Lawrence
Alec/Gerry - Simon Donaldson
Lard O'Connor - Iain Agnew
The New Pretender - David Jackson Young
Secretary/Mr Lawrence - Richard Conlon
Torquil MacLean/Hotel Clerk - James Bryce
Edinburgh Man - David Jackson Young
Andy - Daniel Aitken
Katie - Helen Mackay
Miss Campbell - Nicola Roy
Neill - Gavin Jon Wright

First broadcast BBC Radio 4: 30 April-4 May 2012 (Series 1), 9-13 February 2015 (The Blue Spode Tea Cup), 30 May-3 June 2016 (Edinburgh for Pretenders), 20-24 February 2017 (Series 4), 20-24 August 2018 (Series 5)

© 2023 BBC Studios Distribution Ltd. (P) 2023 BBC Studios Distribution Ltd

More books from this author

View more