Ben Lewis

The System: The Complete Series 1-3

The System: The Complete Series 1-3

A Full-Cast BBC Radio Thriller


A propulsive thriller starring Jack Rowan, Siena Kelly and Iain de Caestecker.

All three series of this fast-paced thriller from award-winning writer Ben Lewis, performed by a stellar cast – it will have you gripped from the first episode.

When Jake signs up to a personal training programme that promises to turn the meekest man-boy into an alpha male, he doesn’t have a clue what he’s getting himself into. Two years later, his sister Maya sets out to uncover the truth. Life-changing events come thick and fast as The System’s true intent is revealed. In the shadowy world she uncovers, everything can shift in a heartbeat. Lives become polarized. Can Jake and Maya find it in themselves to resolve their differences and survive when their increasingly divided worlds collide? Time is running out and the siblings find themselves pulled into a fight for survival. For them. And for us.

Who is really in charge? And can they stop The System?

The System explores the dark fringes of masculinity through a nail-biting, cultish adventure that will have you hooked.

Winner of the Prix Europa for Best Radio Series in 2021, this action-packed and engrossing thriller’s cast includes BAFTA nominee Siena Kelly (Adult Material), Jack Rowan (Noughts + Crosses) and Iain de Caestecker (Marvel's Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D.).

Written by Ben Lewis

Directed by Kirsty Williams

Produced by BBC Scotland

Original music and sound design by Danny Krass. Featuring tracks from Equiknoxx music collective


Jake - Jack Rowan (Series 1 and 3) / Alex Austin (Series 2)

Maya - Siena Kelly

Alex - Iain de Caestecker
Jerome - Don Gilét
Beau - Matthew Needham
DI Cohen/Jess - Chloe Pirrie
Coyote - Divian Ladwa

Grace - Ashna Rabheru

Dr Khalid Hassan - Souad Faress

Jess - Chloe Pirrie

Richard - Pip Torrens

Liv - Jemima Rooper

Angel Investor/Matt Finch/Control - Rhashan Stone

Carly/Amanda - Lois Chimimba

Ash/Reggie - Ian Dunnett Jnr

Voice of the Game/Robin - Ryan Sampson

Wendy - Amelia Bullmore

First Broadcast BBC Radio 4, 28 May – 2 July 2021 (Series 1), 10 June – 9 July 2022 (Series 2), 15 September – 13 October 2023 (Series 3)

©2024 BBC Studios Distribution Ltd (P)2024 BBC Studios Distribution Ltd

More books from this author

View more