Doug Lucie

Stage Left

Stage Left

A BBC Radio Drama


Follow the fortunes of a left-wing theatre company, written by acclaimed dramatist Doug Lucie.

It’s 1985 and the Stage Left Theatre Collective is founded by a group of friends with a shared vision: Emma, the artistic manager and Robert the literary manager, director Saul, playwright Alan, and finance manager, Frank. This funny, moving and pin sharp drama follows the fate of the company and its members over the course of four decades. We catch up with the characters as they negotiate changing cultural and economic climates. There are clashing ideals, conflicting egos, personal grievances, differing tastes and petty quarrels. The company’s dramatic tenth anniversary, the meteoric rise of one of its members and escalating tensions are brought into sharp relief when a tragedy brings the group together.

However, at the heart of this drama is the story of a group of idealistic friends who see their vision refined, altered, dented, rebuilt, and corroded by the wider artistic and cultural landscape. Can their shared dream endure through it all?

For nearly half a century, Doug Lucie has been a key figure in contemporary writing for the British stage with a string of influential successes. His plays have been produced at the National Theatre, the Royal Shakespeare Company’s Other Place and the Royal Court. Stage Left also stars Olivier award winning actor Alex Jennings, best known for his roles in The Crown, The Lady in the Van, and performances on the London stage.

Cast and credits
Written by Doug Lucie
Directed by Mary Peate and Heather Larmour
Produced by Heather Larmour

Alan - Ewan Bailey
Saul - Gerard McDermot
Kelly - Tracy Wiles
Emma - Anna Madeley
Robert - Richard Lumsden
Frank - Alex Jennings
Annabel - Rebecca Hamilton
Jim - Caolan McCarthy
Waiter - Richard Pepple
Sue - Gillian Bevan
Alice - Jane Slavin
Ken - Doug Lucie
Actor 1 - George Watkins
Actor 2/Sir Clive - Brian Protheroe
Di - Evie Killip
Marion - Debra Baker

First Broadcast BBC Radio 4, 8 February 2016

©2024 BBC Studios Distribution Ltd (P)2024 BBC Studios Distribution Ltd

More books from this author

View more