Ericka Waller

Dog Days

Dog Days

The heart-warming, heart-breaking novel about life-changing moments and finding joy

Summary

'Charming, surprising and moving' Clare Chambers, author of Small Pleasures

'Perfect for fans of A Man Called Ove and Eleanor Oliphant' AJ Pearce, author of Dear Mrs Bird and Yours Cheerfully

'Funny, sad, gritty and beautifully told.' Hazel Prior, author of Away with the Penguins

'Will bring you joy' Best

'A soulful, lyrical tale... a treat.' Beth Morrey, author of Saving Missy

'The perfect mix of humour and heartache' Good Housekeeping

'Uplifting, full of charm and warmth' Emma Stonex, author of The Lamplighters

'Tender, humorous and hopeful' Lissa Evans, author of V for Victory

_______________________________________________

George is angry at the world. His wife has died and now all he wants to do is sit in his underpants and shout at the cricket. The last thing he needs is his cake-baking neighbour Betty trying to rescue him. And then there's the dog, a dachshund puppy called Poppy. George doesn't want a dog - he wants a fight.

Dan is a counsellor with OCD who is great at helping other people - if only he were better at helping himself. His most meaningful relationship so far is with his labrador Fitz. But then comes a therapy session that will change his life.

Lizzie is living in a women's refuge with her son Lenny. Her body is covered in scars and she has shut herself off from everyone around her. But when she is forced to walk the refuge's fat terrier, Maud, a new life beckons - if she can keep her secret just a while longer...

Dog Days is a novel about those small but life-changing moments that only come when we pause to let the light in. It is about three people learning to make connections and find joy and comfort in living life off the leash.

__________________________________________________

What readers say about Dog Days:

***** '[An] exhilarating & deeply moving novel about accepting the ebb & flow of life & about grabbing those magical moments when you can...Dog Days is a book with a big heart'

***** 'Life isn't perfect, it's messy & complicated but with small acts of kindness, there is always hope - a sentiment that is captured perfectly in this compelling debut'

***** 'Dog Days had me feeling all the emotions, it broke my heart and gently pieced it back together. '

***** 'Wonderful journey of three complicated characters and the dogs that saw them through their individual journeys'

***** 'A joy to read from start to finish.'