Nikki May

Wahala
  • Wahala

  • SEX AND THE CITY with a killer edge for fans of QUEENIE, EXPECTATION and MY SISTER, THE SERIAL KILLER

    SOON TO BE A MAJOR BBC TV SERIAL

    'Funny, shocking, unputdownable. I loved it
    ' PAULA HAWKINS

    'Witty, tense and entirely addictive'
    ABIGAIL DEAN, Author of GIRL A

    'Terrific. Nikki May writes so well about friendship, food, fashion and the many ways modern women can stumble in their careers and personal lives' CLARE CHAMBERS
    ------------

    Ronke, Simi, Boo are three mixed-race friends living in London.
    They have the gift of two cultures, Nigerian and English.
    Not all of them choose to see it that way.

    Everyday racism has never held them back, but now in their thirties, they question their future. Ronke wants a husband (he must be Nigerian); Boo enjoys (correction: endures) stay-at-home motherhood; while Simi, full of fashion career dreams, rolls her eyes as her boss refers to her urban vibe yet again.

    When Isobel, a lethally glamorous friend from their past arrives in town, she is determined to fix their futures for them.

    Cracks in their friendship begin to appear, and it is soon obvious Isobel is not sorting but wrecking. When she is driven to a terrible act, the women are forced to reckon with a crime in their past that may just have repeated itself.

    Explosive, hilarious and wildly entertaining, this razor-sharp tale of love, race and family will have you laughing, crying and gasping in horror. Fearlessly political about class, colourism and clothes, the spellbinding Wahala is for anyone who has ever cherished friendship, in all its forms.

    PICKED AS ONE OF STYLIST MAGAZINE'S 'FICTION BOOKS YOU CAN'T MISS OF 2022'

    READERS ARE OBSESSED WITH WAHALA

    'This book is absolute fire. I could not put it down. Fantastically written, the story is so engaging and tense. Sexy, dark, addictive. What an incredible novel' ***** Reader review

    'Dark and addictive with a surprising twist (that i won't give away!) and Nikki's writing is completely flawless' *****

    'I couldn't believe it was a debut. I couldn't put it down. Nikki May has written a fantastic story of friendship, revenge and jealousy' *****

    'Wonderful characters with plenty of rich and vibrant detail of their shared culture from hair to food' *****

    'A fabulous depiction of female friendship, with a surprisingly dark twist' *****

    Authors love WAHALA too:

    'Funny, tragic, piercing portrait of modern women and friendship written in glittering and discerning prose'
    EMMA STONEX

    'Sharp, precise, unapologetic, modern. In one word, Exquisite!'
    Lolá Ákínmádé Åkerström, author of IN EVERY MIRROR SHE'S BLACK

    'I have a feeling this book is going to be huge'
    MARIANNE CRONIN, author of THE ONE HUNDRED YEARS OF LENNI AND MARGOT

    'Fantastic! Brilliant writing about food and friendship. I was left wanting more' SARAH PEARSE, author of THE SANATORIUM

    'Love that 'Sex and the City' has finally met moi-moi and plantain with a whole lot of Wahala thrown in'
    ROSANNA AMAKA

Born in Bristol and raised in Lagos, Nikki May is Anglo-Nigerian. At twenty, she dropped out of medical school, moved to London, and began a career in advertising, going on to run a successful agency. Her debut novel WAHALA was inspired by a long lunch with friends. It will be published around the world and is due to be turned into a major TV serial. Nikki lives in Dorset with her husband and two standard Schnauzers.

We use cookies on this site to enable certain parts of the site to function and to collect information about your use of the site so that we can improve our visitors’ experience.

For more on our cookies and changing your settings click here


Strictly Necessary


Analytics


Preferences & Features


Targeting / Advertising