Anne Bronte

The Bronte BBC Radio Drama Collection
  • The Bronte BBC Radio Drama Collection

  • The complete canon of the Brontë sisters' classic novels, dramatised by bestselling author Rachel Joyce

    Jane Eyre by Charlotte Brontë
    Orphan Jane falls in love with the enigmatic Rochester, but he is concealing a dark secret.

    Wuthering Heights by Emily Brontë
    On the bleak Yorkshire moors, Heathcliff and Cathy’s elemental passion runs wild – but their obsession has devastating consequences.

    Agnes Grey by Anne Brontë
    Determined to make her way in the world, penniless young Agnes Grey becomes a governess.

    The Tenant of Wildfell Hall by Anne Brontë
    Gentleman farmer Gilbert Markham is powerfully drawn to Helen Graham, the mysterious resident of Wildfell Hall.

    Shirley by Charlotte Brontë
    A poignant tale of friendship, romantic entanglements and turbulent times, set in Yorkshire in 1811.

    Villette by Charlotte Brontë
    Leaving England to teach in Villette, Lucy Snowe experiences the pangs of unrequited love.

    The Professor by Charlotte Brontë
    As a teacher at a boarding-school in Belgium, William Crimsworth encounters trouble and true love.

    Adapted by Rachel Joyce, these radio dramas boast star casts including Ellie Kendrick, Amanda Hale, Tom Burke, Lesley Sharp, Paul Venables, Robert Lonsdale, Anna Maxwell Martin, Ben Batt and Chloe Pirrie.

    Also included is a one-hour bonus programme featuring Rachel Joyce in conversation with producer Tracey Neale.

Anne Brontë was born at Thornton in Yorkshire on 17 January 1820, the youngest of six children. That April, the Brontës moved to Haworth, a village on the edge of the moors, where Anne’s father had become the curate. Anne’s mother died soon afterwards. She was four when her older sisters were sent to the Clergy Daughters’ School at Cowan Bridge, where Maria and Elizabeth both caught tuberculosis and died. After that, Anne, Charlotte, Emily and Branwell were taught at home for a few years, and together, they created vivid fantasy worlds which they explored in their writing. Anne went to Roe Head School 1835–7. She worked as a governess with the Ingham family (1839–40) and with the Robinson family (1840–45). In 1846, along with Charlotte and Emily, she published Poems by Currer, Ellis and Acton Bell. She published Agnes Grey in 1847 and The Tenant of Wildfell Hall in 1848. That year, both Anne’s brother Branwell and her sister Emily died of tuberculosis. A fortnight later, Anne was diagnosed with the same disease. She died in Scarborough on 28 May 1849.

We use cookies on this site to enable certain parts of the site to function and to collect information about your use of the site so that we can improve our visitors’ experience.

For more on our cookies and changing your settings click here

Strictly Necessary


Preferences & Features

Targeting / Advertising