Bram Stoker

  • Dracula

    • Bram Stoker

    • Michael Fassbender (Read by)

    • James D'Arcy (Read by)

    • James Greene (Read by)

    • Gillian Kearney (Read by)

    Michael Fassbender stars in this multi-voice reading of Bram Stoker’s legendary tale

    First published in 1897, Bram Stoker’s Dracula is widely regarded as the best gothic horror novel of all time. The popularity of the world’s most notorious vampire, Count Dracula, has ensured that it has never been out of print, and it remains a timeless classic.

    In this epistolary novel, journal entries, letters, newspaper clippings and a ship's log interweave to form an incredible, thrilling story, as the various protagonists intimately recount the epic legend of the Transylvanian count.

    The tale begins with Jonathan Harker’s journal as the young, newly qualified solicitor travels to the remote Carpathian Mountains to meet a wealthy client. But as he explores Castle Dracula, he discovers more than he dares contemplate, and learns the terrible truth about his host.

    Meanwhile in England, his fiancée Mina Murray fears for his safety. An empty foreign schooner arrives in Whitby, and Mina's apprehension grows as a mysterious illness affects her dear friend Lucy. When Lucy’s health deteriorates rapidly, Dr Seward calls in the help of Professor Van Helsing, who sets a plan in motion to capture Dracula.

    With time running out, Jonathan, Van Helsing, Dr Seward and Mina must embark on a perilous journey to Transylvania and come face to face with the Vampire King…

    This 10-part series features Oscar-nominated actor Michael Fassbender as Jonathan Harker, James D’Arcy as Dr Seward, Gillian Kearney as Mina Murray and James Greene as Van Helsing.

Abraham Stoker was born in Dublin on 8 November 1847. He graduated in Mathematics from Trinity College, Dublin in 1867 and then worked as a civil servant. In 1878 he married Florence Balcombe. He later moved to London and became business manager of his friend Henry Irving's Lyceum Theatre. He wrote several sensational novels including novels The Snake's Pass (1890), Dracula (1897), The Jewel of Seven Stars (1903), and The Lair of the White Worm (1911). Bram Stoker died on 20 April 1912.

We use cookies on this site to enable certain parts of the site to function and to collect information about your use of the site so that we can improve our visitors’ experience.

For more on our cookies and changing your settings click here

Strictly Necessary


Preferences & Features

Targeting / Advertising