Wereworld: Rise of the Wolf (Book 1)

Wereworld: Rise of the Wolf (Book 1)



Discover the epic fantasy adventure series as Drew Ferran discovers he's the last of a long line of Werewolves - and rightful ruler of a land governed by Werelords.

When the air is clear, Drew Ferran can pick up the scent of a predator.

When the moon breaks through the clouds, a terrifying fever grips him.

And when a vicious beast invades his home, his flesh tears, his fingers become claws, and Drew transforms . . .

Can Drew battle the Werecreatures determined to destroy him and master the wolf within?

Shortlisted for the Waterstones Children's Book Prize, Wereworld is perfect for fans of Percy Jackson, Skandar and Artemis Fowl.

'Epic' - Guardian

'Unpredictable, exciting - hugely recommended' - Bookbag


  • Really, really good . . . gripping. Never read anything like it before
    Forest Hill Boys School reviewer

About the author

Curtis Jobling

A creator and designer of many beloved children's shows, including the BAFTA-winning Bob the Builder and Raa Raa the Noisy Lion, Curtis Jobling lives with his family in Cheshire, England.

Known for his acclaimed Max Helsing and Haunt books for older audiences, his debut novel was Wereworld: Rise of the Wolf. Described as 'Game of Thrones for a middle grade audience', it was shortlisted for the Waterstone's Children's Book Prize. A further five novels followed in the million-selling fantasy series, leading to its acquisition by Lime Pictures.

Wereworld is now a major animated series on Netflix, with Curtis remaining firmly involved as lead writer and associate producer.
Learn More

Sign up to the Penguin Newsletter

For the latest books, recommendations, author interviews and more