Charlie Changes Into a Chicken

Charlie Changes Into a Chicken

Summary

The first book in a hilarious new series for fans of Roald Dahl and David Walliams!

Shortlisted for the Waterstones Children's Book Prize!
Longlisted for the Brandford Boase Award!
Longlisted for the Blue Peter Award!
The Guardian and The Telegraph's Children's Book of the Year!
_______

Charlie McGuffin has an incredible secret . . .

He can change into animals. All sorts of animals: a flea, a pigeon, even a rhino.

Trouble is, he can't decide when - it only happens when he gets worried. And right now, Charlie has quite a lot to worry about:

· His brother (who is in hospital)

· His parents (who are panicking about it)

· And the school bully (who has Charlie in his sights)

And even though every kid wants a superhero power, Charlie isn't keen on changing into a chicken in the middle of the school play.

So with the help of his three best friends, Charlie needs to find a way of dealing with his crazy new power - and fast!


Praise for Charlie Changes into a Chicken:

'Belly-busting hilarity'
The Guardian

'The modern masterpiece . . . this savvy, comic tale ticks every box' The Daily Telegraph

'The best kind of silly' The Observer

'Laugh-out-loud funny'
The Mail on Sunday

'Cleverly daft storytelling at its very, very best' Maz Evans, author of Who Let The Gods Out?

'Full of heart and humour, wit and wisdom, and rivers of rhino poo' Sophie Anderson, author of The House with Chicken Legs

'Wonderfully heart-warming and absolutely hilarious' Catherine Doyle, author of The Storm Keeper's Island

Reviews

  • The best kind of silly
    Observer

About the authors

Sam Copeland

Sam Copeland is an author, which has come as something of a surprise to him. He is from Manchester and now lives in London with two smelly cats, three smelly children and one relatively clean-smelling wife.

He is the author of the bestselling Charlie Changes Into a Chicken, which was shortlisted for the Waterstones Children's Book Prize and spawned two sequels: Charlie Turns Into a T-Rex and Charlie Morphs Into a Mammoth. His other books include Uma and the Answer to Absolutely Everything and Greta and the Ghost Hunters.

With Jenny Pearson, he has also written Tuchus & Topps Investigate: The Underpants of Chaos.

Despite legal threats, he refuses to stop writing.
Learn More

Sarah Horne (Illustrator)

Sarah Horne has been an illustrator for over fifteen years, she started her career working for newspapers such as the Guardian and the Independent On Sunday and has since illustrated many funny young fiction titles.
She works traditionally with a dip pen and Indian ink, and finishes the work digitally.
Learn More

Sign up to the Penguin Newsletter

For the latest books, recommendations, author interviews and more