Daughters of Liverpool

Daughters of Liverpool

Summary

'A warm and satisfying story' My Weekly

From the author of The Liverpool Nightingales comes an uplifting and emotional tale, perfect for fans of Call the Midwife, Downton Abbey and Annie Groves.


Is a mother's love enough to protect her child?
___________


Liverpool 1868.

Shrouded in secrecy Alice Sampson gives birth to a beautiful baby girl.

But the former nurse's happiness is blighted by the knowledge that as a penniless, unwed mother, her future, and that of her child, can only be one of shame and disgrace.

Then a knock at the door brings a miracle: she is invited to return to the Liverpool Royal Infirmary and her beloved ward.

With the help of her friends and the welcome attentions of Reverend Seed, the hospital Chaplain, Alice slowly starts to rebuild her life.

Everything is looking up, until her baby's father unexpectedly shows up to claim the child he knew nothing about.

Suddenly Alice is in danger of losing her baby, her position and her whole future . . .


Praise for Kate Eastham

'Deftly written and moving' Woman's Own

'A heartwarming and tear-inducing tale with wonderfully realistic characters' Woman

Reviews

  • A warm and satisfying story
    My Weekly

About the author

Kate Eastham

Kate Eastham trained as a nurse and midwife on the Nightingale wards of Preston Royal Infirmary. She has well over thirty years of experience working in hospital, residential and hospice care. Born and bred in Lancashire, she is married with three grown-up children and one grandchild. Always reading, she went on to gain a degree in English Literature and was inspired to write after researching the history of nursing and her own family history, with its roots in Liverpool, northern mill towns and rural Lancashire.
Learn More

Sign up to the Penguin Newsletter

For the latest books, recommendations, author interviews and more