The Spitfire Sweetheart

The Spitfire Sweetheart


From the bestselling author of The Open Door comes a moving and uplifting story about a generation of young people living through World War II

September, 1939.

In the sleepy village of Roehampton, Annie Webster has finally found comfort for herself and her close-knit family, far from the poverty and hardships of their childhood in Bermondsey.

Then, an announcement shatters their newfound peace. England is at war . . .

As her brothers enlist for duty, Annie sacrifices her glamorous job in London for the urgent work of the WAAF, where women of all backgrounds pull together tirelessly for the war effort.

Brave, resourceful and determined to do her bit for her country, Annie's intelligence and warmth singles her out for a daring new role . . .

But as Annie quickly catches the eye of a dashing officer, will she ever find peace in her heart?

And will Annie and her loved ones survive Britain's darkest hour?

'A heartwarming and uplifting tale' Daily Express



  • Praise for The Winter Child

About the author

Beryl Matthews

Beryl Matthews is the beloved and bestselling author of The Winter Child (previously The Open Door), The Orphan of Farthing Street (previously One Step at a Time), Her Mother's Daughter (previously A Time of Peace) and The Spitfire Sweetheart (previously Wings of the Morning).

She grew up in a family of avid readers and writes from experience. Amongst other jobs, she has worked at an aircraft factory and as a credit controller.

Beryl published her first book at the age of 71 after joining a writers' group and has since written over twenty novels. Her hobbies include travelling, swimming and golf, but writing is her first and foremost joy.
Learn More

Sign up to the Penguin Newsletter

For the latest books, recommendations, author interviews and more