Doctor Rose

Doctor Rose

a stirring Yorkshire saga of female determination and drive you won’t easily forget

Summary

Perfect for fans of Kitty Neale, Rosie Goodwin and Dilly Court, this is timely novel of one woman's quest to establish herself in a man's world by multi-million copy seller Elvi Rhodes. Perfect to settle down with!

READERS ARE LOVING DOCTOR ROSE!
"What a page turner" - 5 STAR REVIEW
"A book to lose yourself in and enjoy - fantastic!" - 5 STAR REVIEW
"Captures the imagination" - 5 STAR REVIEW
"A very good story - Elvi Rhodes eases you in to her stories. When you finish a chapter the reader is left with enthusiasm to turn the next page and continue" - 5 STAR REVIEW

*********************************************************************************************
SHE'S DETERMINED TO MAKE HER MARK IN A MAN'S WORLD...

The 1920s: being a female doctor is tough, especially if you work in the welfare centre of an industrial Yorkshire town.

Rose - who has the added disadvantage of being young and pretty - finds she has to cope with elderly male prejudice from those above her, and apathetic ignorance and poverty from those she is trying to help.

She'll need all the inner strength and confidence she can muster to find her way...

About the author

Elvi Rhodes

Elvi Rhodes was born and educated in Yorkshire. She is the author of many bestselling novels including Opal, Doctor Rose, Ruth Appleby, The Golden Girls, Madeleine, The House of Bonneau, Cara's Land, The Rainbow Through the Rain, The Bright One, The Mountain, Portrait of Chloe, Spring Music, Midsummer Meeting, The Birthday Party, Mulberry Lane, A Blessing In Disguise and The Apple Tree. A collection of stories, Summer Promise and Other Stories, is also published by Corgi Books.
Learn More

Sign up to the Penguin Newsletter

For the latest books, recommendations, author interviews and more