Chandlers Green

Chandlers Green

A powerful and breathtakingly emotional saga set in the North West by bestselling author Ruth Hamilton

Summary

This captivating and moving saga full of twists and turns by the Sunday Times bestselling author Ruth Hamilton is perfect for fans of Catherine Cookson, Dilly Court and Josephine Cox.

"I believe that Ruth Hamilton is very much the successor to Catherine Cookson. Her books are plot driven, they just rip along; laughs, weeps, love, they've got the lot, and they're quality writing as well" -- SARAH BROADHURST, RADIO FOUR


"Keeps you hooked to the last page" -- ***** Reader review

"A wonderful story" -- ***** Reader review
"Brilliant as always" -- ***** Reader review

**********************************************************

THE PAST AND PRESENT ARE ABOUT TO MEET IN TRAGEDY

The Chandlers
had been making candles in Bolton for five hundred years, and had given their name to the village of Chandlers Green. The dynasty, now in decline and ruled by Richard Chandler, is reduced to an unhappy household and a few tenanted properties.

But Richard continues to behave as though he were lord of the manor. Jean, his wife, is terrified of him; his grown-up children despise him, but fear for their mother if they were to leave home.

And now Richard's arch-enemy, Alf Martindale, is planning to move into his village, and Richard knows that the past is catching up with him fast. A crisis forces him to leave his manor for a while, and he has no way of knowing that Jean is arming herself against his return.

The past and the present are about to come together in a way that can only end in tragedy...

Reviews

  • The story is what we have come to expect...Finely drawn characters...slot happily into local history. A panoply of personalities to love and hate, enough twists and turns to do justice to a crateful of eels and an ending to prompt plenty of exclamations of "well I never!"
    Bolton Evening News

About the author

Ruth Hamilton

Ruth Hamilton became one of the north-west of England's most popular writers, her bestselling books include With Love From Ma Maguire, A Crooked Mile and Dorothy’s War. Ruth Hamilton was born in Bolton, which is the setting for many of her novels, and spent most of her life in Lancashire before moving to Liverpool. She died in 2016.
Learn More

Sign up to the Penguin Newsletter

For the latest books, recommendations, author interviews and more