Thieves Of Mercy

Thieves Of Mercy

a stunning and heart-pounding novel of naval adventure set during the US Civil War


Bestselling author James Nelson brings us another maritime adventure packed with battle, duty, heroism and tragedy. Perfect for readers of Julian Stockwin, CS Forester and Alexander Kent.

"A triumph of imagination and good taut writing" -- BERNARD CORNWELL

"A master both of his period and of the English language" -- PATRICK O'BRIAN
"Nelson handles deftly the O'Brian dominated maritime genre with...tense action and battle sequences" -- PUBLISHERS WEEKLY
"Another page turner by James L Nelson. Gripping action with minute attention paid to historical accuracy." -- ***** Reader review
"A literary masterpiece" -- ***** Reader review
"Great history, great storytelling." -- ***** Reader review



Having survived the bloody Battle of New Orleans and the loss of his ship, Captain Sam Bowater is given new orders - to take command of an ironclad warship being built in Memphis, Tennessee. Bowater and his men are taken up river by 'Mississippi' Mike Sullivan, one of the wild, undisciplined captains of the River Defence Squadron, only to find, on their arrival, that their ship is not even half-built and the enemy is closing in fast.

Against his better judgment, Bowater joins forces with Sullivan on board his river gunship. Outnumbered and outgunned, the Confederates once again fling themselves bravely at the overwhelming power of the Yankee invaders. The deadly fight along the Mississippi ends at last in the massive naval battle of Memphis, as the Confederates attempt to hold back the Northern advance.

Thieves of Mercy is the conclusion of James Nelson's Civil War at Sea series. The action started in Glory In The Name.

About the author

James Nelson

Learn More

Sign up to the Penguin Newsletter

For the latest books, recommendations, author interviews and more