Away From It All

Away From It All

a delightful, light-hearted and heart-warming novel about finding the right life for you…

Summary

Fans of Trisha Ashley, Jenny Colgan and Milly Johnson will love this irresistible and uplifting read in which two differing world views collide from much-loved and ever-popular author Judy Astley. You'll be hooked!

'Warm, funny, and unerringly true to life' - Katie Fforde

'A laugh out loud read' - Woman's Own
'Wickedly funny' - Daily Mail
'A lively laughter-packed riot of a story' - Heat
'I bought "Away From It All" on the spur of the moment and liked it so much that I will buy another Judy Astley title immediately.' -- ***** Reader review
'Great escapism' -- ***** Reader review
'A fun read' -- ***** Reader review

***********************************************************************************

IS HER LIFE REALLY GOING THE WAY SHE WANTS IT TO?

Alice
has a scrupulously organised, comfortable life in West London with Noel - her second husband whose main ambition in life is to sharpen his golf handicap in time for retirement. But when her mother Jocelyn, residing in shabby splendour in a crumbling house on a clifftop in Cornwall, becomes ill, Alice and the family goes to look after her.

What she finds there appals her: her glorious childhood home falling into decay. Noel, helpfully, thinks Jocelyn should offload the house ('She's sitting on a goldmine, you know') and move into sensible sheltered accommodation.

But their children love the freedom and beauty that they discover in Cornwall, and Alice begins to wonder whether her chosen way of life is necessarily the right one . . .

Reviews

  • A laugh out loud read
    Woman's Own

About the author

Judy Astley

Born In Lancashire, Judy Astley has lived for most of her life in Twickenham, and was a dress designer and painter before writing her first novel, Just for the Summer, in 1994.

She has two grown-up daughters and lives with her husband in Twickenham and Cornwall.

For more information on Judy Astley and her books, see her website at www.judyastley.com
Learn More

Sign up to the Penguin Newsletter

For the latest books, recommendations, author interviews and more