Miracle Cure

Miracle Cure

a heart-poundingly tense and dramatic medical thriller that will get your pulse racing…

Summary

Fans of Michael Connelly, Peter James and Robin Cook will love this captivating and riveting thriller from the pen of Sunday Times bestselling author Michael Palmer. Fascinating medical knowledge combined with a fast-paced narrative - a real winner!

'A highly entertaining tale of greed and medicine run amok' -- Chicago Tribune

'Packs plenty of heart-stopping action.' -- Associated Press
'With the twists along the way this book made fascinating, awesome and sometimes frightening reading.' -- ***** Reader review
'Don't start this book unless you have plenty of time because you won't want to put it down once you've started it.' -- ***** Reader review
'A page turner'-- ***** Reader review
'Clever and suspenseful!' -- ***** Reader review

******************************************************
KNOWING TOO MUCH COULD BE THE QUICKEST WAY TO THE MORGUE...

When skilled cardiologist Brian Holbrook suffered an agonizing sports injury he was left with an addiction to prescription painkillers that eventually cost him his marriage and his license to practice medicine. But now, at thirty-eight, he has cleaned up his act, swallowed his pride, and is ready to start over.

When the prestigious Boston Heart Institute offers him the opportunity to participate in trials of a new drug that could revolutionize medicine, he's thrilled. Vasclear may have the power to reverse arteriosclerosis, a heart disease and globally the number one killer. The initial results are so dazzling Brian pushes to get his own father, who has a dangerous heart condition, into the scheme.

But soon Brian is uneasy. The mysterious disappearance of a colleague and deaths of patients on the scheme compels him to ask questions. However, with billions of dollars at stake, probing questions could cost him his career - and his father's life.

For as Brian is beginning to suspect, knowing too much at the Boston Heart Institute is a matter of life and death...

About the author

Michael Palmer

Michael Palmer, M.D., trained in internal medicine at Boston City and Massachusetts General Hospitals, spent twenty years as a full-time practitioner of internal and emergency medicine, and was an associate director of the Massachusetts Medical Society's physician health program. He wrote over ten books which were translated into thirty-five languages. He died in October 2013.
Learn More

Sign up to the Penguin Newsletter

For the latest books, recommendations, author interviews and more