Critical Judgement

Critical Judgement

an incredibly suspenseful and gripping medical thriller you won’t be able to forget…

Summary

Fans of Michael Connelly, Peter James and Robin Cook will love this tense and unputdownable medical page-turner from the pen of Sunday Times bestselling author Michael Palmer. Incredible medical knowledge coupled with a mesmerising turn of page - this is a phenomenal ride!

'Gripping and fresh... wrenchingly scary' -- Publishers Weekly

'Palmer brings his fascinating ER procedural knowledge to a fast-paced narrative.' -- San Francisco Chronicle
'Manages to scare the socks off the reader' -- Toronto Globe and Mail
'I seriously couldn't put it down. I highly recommend it' -- ***** Reader review
'Absolutely stupendous' -- ***** Reader review
'Totally complex novel that keeps your interest from beginning to end and then wishing it would not end' -- ***** Reader review
'Another Palmer book finished in less than 36 hours because I couldn't put it down' -- ***** Reader review
'This book hooks you in at the start and thrills right to the end' -- ***** Reader review

*****************************************************************************

ASKING QUESTIONS COULD END HER CAREER AND HER LIFE...

Dr Abby Dolan
was on the fast track at a major San Francisco hospital when she made a critical choice: to follow her fiance, Josh Wyler, to the picturesque California town of Patience, where he has a new job with the manufacturing giant Colstar.

Working in a small-town emergency room, knowing her every move sparks gossip, Abby nonetheless begins to feel at home - until undiagnosable patients start to show up.

Despite her considerable skills, she can't crack these baffling, seemingly random cases.

When Josh too begins to suffer disturbing symptoms, followed by manic, even violent behaviour, she wonders: could Colstar somehow be poisoning the town?

Warned by a colleague that her predecessor in the ER died in a dubious accident after making similar allegations, Abby refuses to back off. She begins to question everyone and everything around her in the now hostile town of patience.

And her most dangerous enemy is far closer than she thinks.

About the author

Michael Palmer

Michael Palmer, M.D., trained in internal medicine at Boston City and Massachusetts General Hospitals, spent twenty years as a full-time practitioner of internal and emergency medicine, and was an associate director of the Massachusetts Medical Society's physician health program. He wrote over ten books which were translated into thirty-five languages. He died in October 2013.
Learn More

Sign up to the Penguin Newsletter

For the latest books, recommendations, author interviews and more