The Barrytown Trilogy

The Barrytown Trilogy


Here, in one volume, are Roddy Doyle’s three acclaimed novels about the Rabbitte family from Barrytown, Dublin. In them we follow the rapid rise of Jimmy Rabbitte’s soul band, the Commitments, and their equally rapid fall; Sharon Rabbitte’s attempts to keep the identity of her unborn child’s father a secret, amid intense speculation from her family and friends; and the fortunes of the travelling fish ‘n’ chips van that Jimmy Rabbitte Sr and his friend Bimbo launch for the good people of Barrytown.

‘Mr Doyle has made his own the gritty world of modern Dublin’
New York Times

‘An absurd comedy of the commonplace…a charming, truthful and immensely funny story which leaves you gasping for more’
Sunday Times on The Commitments

‘A superb creation, exploding with cheerful chauvinism and black Celtic humour… You finish the book hungry for more’
The Times on The Snapper

‘A wonderfully funny book, that crackles and spits like fat in the fryer. It is also very touching…fine entertainment’
Daily Telegraph on The Van


  • Mr Doyle has made his own the gritty world of modern Dublin
    New York Times

About the author

Roddy Doyle

Roddy Doyle was born in Dublin in 1958. He is the author of twelve acclaimed novels including The Commitments, The Snapper, The Van and Smile, two collections of short stories, and Rory & Ita, a memoir about his parents. He won the Booker Prize in 1993 for Paddy Clarke Ha Ha Ha.
Learn More

Sign up to the Penguin Newsletter

For the latest books, recommendations, author interviews and more