The Evil Seed

The Evil Seed

an absorbing, dark and chilling novel from bestselling author Joanne Harris

Summary

The Evil Seed is international multi-million copy seller Joanne Harris's haunting first novel - a captivating and compelling study of human desires and compulsions, it is delightfully gothic in tone. Perfect for fans of Kate Atkinson and Kate Mosse as well as fans of Eve Chase and Stacey Halls.

'A dark, gothic romance filled with mystery, jealousy, and violence...an interesting and a thrilling read' -- Style Magazine
'Totally captivating' -- ***** Reader review
'Had me hooked from the first page, dark, twisting and exciting - a must read' -- ***** Reader review
'A page-turner' -- ***** Reader review
'Cracking stuff - I was hooked' -- ***** Reader review

****************************************************************************

It's never easy to face the fact that a man you once loved passionately has found the girl of his dreams, as Alice discovers when Joe introduces her to his new girlfriend.

Then Alice finds an old diary and reads about two men and the mysterious woman who bewitched them both, buried in Grantchester churchyard half a century ago.

As the stories seem to intertwine, Alice comes to realize that her instinctive hatred of Joe's new girlfriend may not just be due to jealousy, as she is plunged into a nightmare world of obsession, revenge, seduction - and blood.

Caution - May contain vampires...

Reviews

  • A dark, gothic romance filled with mystery, jealousy, and violence...an interesting and a thrilling read
    Style Magazine

About the author

Joanne Harris

Joanne Harris's Whitbread-shortlisted Chocolat was made into an Oscar-nominated film starring Juliette Binoche and Johnny Depp. She is the author of many other bestselling novels, including Lollipop Shoes, Peaches for Monsieur le Curé, and The Strawberry Thief, all also featuring Vianne Rocher. She has also written acclaimed novels in such diverse genres as fantasy based on Norse myth (Runemarks, Runelight, The Gospel of Loki), and the Malbry cycle of dark psychological thrillers (Gentlemen & Players, Blueeyedboy, and Different Class).

Born in Barnsley, of an English father and a French mother, she spent fifteen years as a teacher before (somewhat reluctantly) becoming a full-time writer. In 2013, she was awarded an MBE. She lives in Yorkshire, plays bass and flute in a band first formed when she was sixteen, and works in a shed in her garden.
Learn More

Sign up to the Penguin Newsletter

For the latest books, recommendations, author interviews and more