Peaches for Monsieur le Curé (Chocolat 3)

Peaches for Monsieur le Curé (Chocolat 3)

the enchanting third novel in the beloved Chocolat series from master storyteller Joanne Harris

Summary

A welcome return to Vianne Rocher and the village in rural France that was the setting for Joanne Harris's remarkable and much-loved number one bestseller Chocolat. Perfect for fans of Victoria Hislop, Fiona Valpy, Maggie O'Farrell and Rachel Joyce.

'Vianne - unconventional, good-hearted, slightly magical - blows in like a
refreshing breeze, forcing people to question their prejudices. A delight' -- The Times
'Expertly crafted, typically mouthwatering' -- Daily Mail
'This bewitching novel stirs the senses' - Good Housekeeping
'I found it unputdownable' -- ***** Reader review
'Brilliant and thought-provoking' -- ***** Reader review
'Superbly written and flows along beautifully' -- ***** Reader review
'Impossible to put down' -- ***** Reader review
'Absolutely enchanting' -- ***** Reader review

*********************************************************************************

It isn't often you receive a letter from the dead.

When Vianne Rocher receives a letter from beyond the grave, she allows the wind to blow her back to the village in south-west France where, eight years ago, she opened up a chocolate shop. But Lansquenet is different now: women veiled in black, the scent of spices and peppermint tea, and, on the bank of the river Tannes, facing the church: a minaret.

Nor is it only the incomers from North Africa that have brought change. Father Reynaud, Vianne's erstwhile adversary, is disgraced and under threat.

Could it be that Vianne is the only one who can save him now?

Reviews

  • Vianne - unconventional, good-hearted, slightly magical - blows in like a refreshing breeze, forcing people to question their prejudices. A delight
    The Times

About the author

Joanne Harris

Joanne Harris's Whitbread-shortlisted Chocolat was made into an Oscar-nominated film starring Juliette Binoche and Johnny Depp. She is the author of many other bestselling novels, including Lollipop Shoes, Peaches for Monsieur le Curé, and The Strawberry Thief, all also featuring Vianne Rocher. She has also written acclaimed novels in such diverse genres as fantasy based on Norse myth (Runemarks, Runelight, The Gospel of Loki), and the Malbry cycle of dark psychological thrillers (Gentlemen & Players, Blueeyedboy, and Different Class).

Born in Barnsley, of an English father and a French mother, she spent fifteen years as a teacher before (somewhat reluctantly) becoming a full-time writer. In 2013, she was awarded an MBE. She lives in Yorkshire, plays bass and flute in a band first formed when she was sixteen, and works in a shed in her garden.
Learn More

Sign up to the Penguin Newsletter

For the latest books, recommendations, author interviews and more