The City

The City

A spellbinding and captivating epic fantasy that will keep you on the edge of your seat

Summary

Perfect for fans of Game of Thrones, Joe Abercrombie and Robin Hobb, a stunningly imagined and thrilling epic fantasy from bestselling author Stella Gemmell.

'One of the best fantasy novels I've read in a long time - and I read a lot . . . utterly compelling . . . an awesome example of the genre' SF BOOK REVIEWS


'An astonishing book . . . Easily the best fantasy novel I've read in the last decade' JAMES BARCLAY


'Vast, immersive and accomplished' INDEPENDENT ON SUNDAY

'Superbly executed . . . I found myself absolutely hooked' THE ELOQUENT PAGE


'Grips you from the first page' ***** Reader review
'This ticked all the boxes for me' ***** Reader review
'Such a great read, she has very much her own style of writing and I loved it' ***** Reader review

************************************

THEIR HOPES REST ON ONE MAN . . . EVEN THOUGH HE IS BELIEVED TO BE DEAD.

The City, ancient and vast, has been waging almost constant war for centuries.

At its heart resides the Emperor. Few have ever seen him. Those who have recall a man in his prime and yet he should be very old. Some wonder if he's no longer human; other question whether he ever truly was.

A group of rebels have come to a desperate conclusion: the only way to halt the ceaseless slaughter is to end the emperor's unnaturally long life.

From the crumbling catacombs beneath the City, where the poor struggle to stay alive, to the blood-soaked fields of battle where so few heroes survive, the rebels emerge.

Their hopes rest on one man. A man who was once the Emperor's foremost general, a revered soldier who could lead an uprising and unite the City. A man who was betrayed, imprisoned, tortured and is now believed to be dead . . .

The story continues in The Immortal Throne...

Reviews

  • The most satisfying, intelligent and enthralling epic fantasy I’ve read in many a year.
    JULIET McKENNA

About the author

Stella Gemmell

Stella Gemmell has a degree in politics and is a journalist. She was married to the internationally acclaimed and bestselling fantasy novelist David Gemmell and worked with him on his three Troy novels, completing the final book, Troy: Fall of Kings, following his death in 2006. She lives in East Sussex. The City is her first solo novel.
Learn More

Sign up to the Penguin Newsletter

For the latest books, recommendations, author interviews and more