The Last Raider

The Last Raider

a compelling and captivating WW1 naval adventure from the master storyteller of the sea

Summary

Multi-million copy bestselling author Douglas Reeman will take you right to the heart of the action in this page-turner of a historical adventure novel. Laden with tension, explosive developments and unforgettable battle scenes, this is perfect for fans of Clive Cussler, Bernard Cornwell and Wilbur Smith.

'One of our foremost writers of naval fiction' - Sunday Times

'Masterly storytelling' - The Times
'Gripping and a book you just can not put down...' -- ***** Reader review
'An edge-of-your-seat story' - ***** Reader review
'Highly recommended' -- ***** Reader review

********************************************************************
December 1917: Germany opens the final, bitter round of the war with a new and deadly weapon in the struggle for the seas - the Vulcan.

When she sails from Kiel Harbour, she is, to all appearances, a harmless merchant vessel. But her peaceful lines conceal a merciless firepower: guns, mines and torpedoes that can be brought into play instantly.

The Vulcan is a commerce raider. And under crack commander Felix von Steiger, her mission is to bring chaos to the seaways.

Her enemies have no idea what lies in store...

About the author

Douglas Reeman

Douglas Reeman did convoy duty in the navy in the Atlantic, the Arctic, and the North Sea. He has written over thirty novels under his own name and more than twenty bestselling historical novels featuring Richard Bolitho under the pseudonym Alexander Kent.
Learn More

Sign up to the Penguin Newsletter

For the latest books, recommendations, author interviews and more