Badge of Glory

Badge of Glory

(The Blackwood Family: Book 1): a compelling and captivating naval adventure from the master storyteller of the sea


Fans of Clive Cussler, Bernard Cornwell and Wilbur Smith will love this enthralling and colourful saga from multi-million copy bestselling author Douglas Reeman. The first novel in the Blackwood saga, spanning 150 years in the history of a great seafaring family, this an engrossing, all-action naval adventure that will keep you on the edge of your seat!

'One of our foremost writers of naval fiction' -- Sunday Times
'Mr Reeman writes with great knowledge about the sea and those who sail on it' --The Times
'I was engrossed from start to finish' -- ***** Reader review
'Superb' -- ***** Reader review
'Fantastic' -- ***** Reader review
'My only fault was that I was disappointed when I got to the end' -- ***** Reader review
'Another romping good yarn by my favourite author' -- ***** Reader review

1850: the age of Empire, the age of contrast, the age of dramatic change - one which would determine the destinies of nations as well as of men.

Captain Philip Blackwood of the Royal Marines rejoins his ship, HMS Audacious that August, anxious to get back into action. Per Mare - Per Terram is the Marines' motto.

In the torturous heat of Africa, where they are sent to stamp out the remaining strongholds of slavery, and later, in the bitter war of the Crimea, Philip Blackwood and his men learn to obey that motto without question...


  • Masterly storytelling.
    The Times

About the author

Douglas Reeman

Douglas Reeman did convoy duty in the navy in the Atlantic, the Arctic, and the North Sea. He has written over thirty novels under his own name and more than twenty bestselling historical novels featuring Richard Bolitho under the pseudonym Alexander Kent.
Learn More

Sign up to the Penguin Newsletter

For the latest books, recommendations, author interviews and more