The Accidental Mother

The Accidental Mother

Summary

Perfect for fans of Jojo Moyes, Marian Keyes and Sophie Kinsella, this is a funny, warm-hearted novel from the author of The Memory Book, which was featured in the Richard & Judy book club 2014

'I immediately read The Memory Book and it's WONDERFUL ... I'm so happy because she's written other books and its so lovely to find a writer you love who has a backlist' Marian Keyes

Sophie Mills has worked her Manolo Blahniks off to reach the near-top of her profession. And she's very happy with her priorities in life - her job, her neurotic cat Artemis and her passion for shoes. After all, relationships only get in the way. And as for children? She hasn't even begun to think about them yet. Until one day an unexpected visitor brings news of a strange inheritance and Sophie is suddenly, out of the blue, in sole charge of two children under the age of six. But motherhood can't be all that hard, can it?

Within twenty-four hours, her make-up is smeared all over the bathroom, Artemis has taken up residence on top of her wardrobe, and Sophie is in despair. And all her unconventional mother can suggest is Dr Roberts' Complete Dog Training and Care Manual.

Determined to rise to the challenge, Sophie soon realises that she'll need more than a business plan to cope with all this...

Reviews

  • I immediately read The Memory Book and it's WONDERFUL ... I'm so happy because she's written other books and its so lovely to find a writer you love who has a backlist
    Marian Keyes

About the author

Rowan Coleman

ROWAN COLEMAN is the Sunday Times bestselling and award winning

screenwriter and author of sixteen novels including THE MEMORY BOOK, THE SUMMER OF
IMPOSSIBLE THINGS, THE GIRL AT THE WINDOW and FROM NOW UNTIL FOREVER.

Rowan lives in Scarborough with her husband, large family and three dogs.
Learn More

Sign up to the Penguin Newsletter

For the latest books, recommendations, author interviews and more