The Accidental Family

The Accidental Family

Summary

Perfect for fans of Jojo Moyes, Marian Keyes and Sophie Kinsella, this is a funny, warm-hearted novel from the author of The Memory Book, which was featured in the Richard & Judy book club 2014

'I immediately read The Memory Book and it's WONDERFUL ... I'm so happy because she's written other books and its so lovely to find a writer you love who has a backlist' Marian Keyes

Six months ago, city girl Sophie Mills gave up everything to move to Cornwall. All to be with the man she thinks she loves, and his two daughters who she knows she loves.

But adjusting to life as a semi-permanent mother in the countryside isn't quite as easy as Sophie imagined it would be. Designer shoes aren't nearly so readily available - not that she ever has any occasion to wear them - and her best pair of vintage Manolo's have already found their way into the girls' dressing-up box. Sometimes Sophie doesn't recognise herself; which most of the time makes her happy but every now and then scares her to death.

The hardest thing of all is making that final commitment to actually move in with Louis and the girls - she's been the longest paying guest of the Avalon B&B, St Ives in the history of the establishment. And as she tries to adapt to country life, her newly adopted family and discovering more about Louis's past, she begins to wonder if she's got what it takes to make it all work...

Reviews

  • This is an exceptionally fabulous book with all the ingredients to make a great film. Funny, emotional and honest!
    www.bettybookmark.co.uk

About the author

Rowan Coleman

ROWAN COLEMAN is the Sunday Times bestselling and award winning

screenwriter and author of sixteen novels including THE MEMORY BOOK, THE SUMMER OF
IMPOSSIBLE THINGS, THE GIRL AT THE WINDOW and FROM NOW UNTIL FOREVER.

Rowan lives in Scarborough with her husband, large family and three dogs.
Learn More

Sign up to the Penguin Newsletter

For the latest books, recommendations, author interviews and more