Dog Days

Dog Days

The heart-warming, heart-breaking novel about life-changing moments and finding joy

Summary

'Perfect for fans of A Man Called Ove and Eleanor Oliphant...Definitely one of my favourite novels of 2021' AJ Pearce, author of Dear Mrs Bird and Yours Cheerfully

'A charming, surprising and moving story of three troubled characters' encounter with love, grief, healing...and dogs' Clare Chambers, author of Small Pleasures

'Funny, sad, gritty and beautifully told.' Hazel Prior, author of Away with the Penguins

_______________________________________________

George is angry at the world. His wife has died and now all he wants to do is sit in his underpants and shout at the cricket. The last thing he needs is his cake-baking neighbour Betty trying to rescue him. And then there's the dog, a dachshund puppy called Poppy. George doesn't want a dog - he wants a fight.

Dan is a counsellor with OCD who is great at helping other people - if only he were better at helping himself. His most meaningful relationship so far is with his labrador Fitz. But then comes a therapy session that will change his life.

Lizzie is living in a women's refuge with her son Lenny. Her body is covered in scars and she has shut herself off from everyone around her. But when she is forced to walk the refuge's fat terrier, Maud, a new life beckons - if she can keep her secret just a while longer...

Dog Days is a novel about those small but life-changing moments that only come when we pause to let the light in. It is about three people learning to make connections and find joy and comfort in living life off the leash.

_________________________________________________


'A soulful, lyrical tale... Such a treat.' Beth Morrey, author of Saving Missy


'Moving, uplifting, full of charm and warmth' Emma Stonex, author of The Lamplighters

'Tender, humorous and hopeful' Lissa Evans, author of V for Victory

__________________________________________________

Readers are moved by Dog Days:

***** 'A sentimental, exhilarating & deeply moving novel about accepting the ebb & flow of life & about grabbing those magical moments when you can...Dog Days is a book with a big heart and one you do not want to miss'
***** 'Life isn't perfect, it's messy & complicated but with small acts of kindness, there is always hope - a sentiment that is captured perfectly in this compelling debut'
***** 'Dog Days had me feeling all the emotions, it broke my heart and gently pieced it back together. '
***** 'Wonderful journey of three complicated characters and the dogs that saw them through their individual journeys'

Reviews

  • 'Funny, sad, gritty and beautifully told, this story will make you look at life again and appreciate the small acts of kindness that make everything worthwhile.
    HAZEL PRIOR, author of Away with the Penguins

About the author

Ericka Waller

Learn More

Sign up to the Penguin Newsletter

For the latest books, recommendations, author interviews and more