No Commitments: Series 1-5

No Commitments: Series 1-5

The BBC Radio 4 comedy drama


The first five series of the BBC Radio comedy drama about the lives and squabbles of three very different sisters

After years of looking her after elderly parents, Anna finds herself able, for the first time, to live her own life. She's enjoying simply being herself, with no responsibilities and no obligations. But her two younger sisters, Victoria and Charlotte, are concerned about her. Surely poor, unfulfilled Anna can't be happy without a partner or a family around?

Determined to make an effort, they decide to draw her into their lives - and Anna's peaceful, commitment-free lifestyle soon disappears. Throughout these five series, she becomes embroiled in their various dramas and crises, as actress Charlotte suffers a series of career and romantic disappointments and housewife Victoria grows increasingly discontented with her husband Roger. And as Victoria's daughter Emily grows from sulky teen to young woman, she, too, starts to confide in her aunt Anna.

With all her relatives involving her in their affairs, will Anna still be able to forge her own path - and maybe even find romance?

Created by award-winning author Simon Brett, whose radio sitcom credits include After Henry and Smelling of Roses, this classic comedy about sisterly dissension stars Rosemary Leach as Anna, with Nicola Pagett as Victoria and Celia Imrie and Josie Lawrence as Charlotte.

Produced by Paul Schlesinger (Series 1 & 2), Ann Jobson (Series 3 & 4) and Maria Esposito (Series 5)
Music composed by Elizabeth Parker, BBC Radiophonic Workshop

Anna - Rosemary Leach
Victoria - Nicola Pagett
Charlotte - Celia Imrie/Josie Lawrence
Delia - Maxine Audley
Roger - Stephen Moore/Roger Llloyd Pack/Jonathan Coy/Bill Nighy
Eddie - James Greene
Emily - Lisa Coleman/Natalie Walter
With Andrew Wincott, Benjamin Whitrow, Ronald Herdman, Mark Straker, Theresa Streatfeild, Robert Bathurst, Peter Penry-Jones, Nicholas Murchie, David Swift, Neil Roberts, Teresa Gallagher, Dominic Letts, Jillie Meers, William Osborne, Philip Anthony, Simon Treves, David Thorpe, John Baddeley, David Antrobus, Michael Tudor-Barnes, Rachel Atkins, Jonathan Keeble, Derek Waring, Ian Masters, Kim Wall, Kelda Holmes, Geoffrey Whitehead, Joshua Towb, Jon Glover, Edward de Souza

First broadcast BBC Radio 4, 9 January-13 February 1992 (Series 1), 29 July-2 September 1993 (Series 2), 24 November-29 December 1994 (Series 3), 24 July-28 August 1996 (Series 4), 9 July-13 August 1998 (Series 5)

About the author

Simon Brett

Learn More

Sign up to the Penguin Newsletter

For the latest books, recommendations, author interviews and more