Sugar

Sugar

The addictive Richard and Judy book club pick

Summary

**A RICHARD AND JUDY AUTUMN BOOK CLUB PICK AND THE MOST POWERFUL BOOK YOU'LL READ THIS YEAR**

'Poignant and bittersweet, this novel is a joy' Richard & Judy


Young and confident, with a swagger in her step, Sugar arrives in the southern town of Bigelow hoping to start over. Soon Bigelow is alight with gossip and suspicion, and Sugar fears her past is catching up with her. Then she meets Pearl, a woman trying to forget her own traumas. As these next-door neighbours become unlikely friends, they wonder if their lives could finally be changing for the better. But small towns have long memories...

Perfect for fans of The Vanishing Half and Where the Crawdads Sing, Sugar is a classic waiting to be rediscovered.

Reviewers adore Sugar:


'A page-turning novel guaranteed to be looked back on as a timeless classic' INDEPENDENT

'This book is so engaging and beautiful and intriguing and satisfying that I could not put it down' ELLE

'Riveting... Searing and expertly imagined' TONI MORRISON on Bernice L. McFadden


Readers are falling for Sugar


'Such an enjoyable read... beautifully written, raw and impactful'
'Riveting, heart-breaking'
'Very powerful, poignant'
'Beautifully written... brutal and moving... a must read book'
'Well-written with rich characters and many twists and turns'
'So descriptive yet easy to read, and it made me fall in love with all the characters'

Reviews

  • Sugar follows expertly crafted characters as they wade through grief, sexism, and the bitter judgement of the 1950s Deep South with warmth and heart. Sugar is a page-turning novel guaranteed to be looked back on as a timeless classic
    Independent

About the author

Bernice McFadden

Learn More

Sign up to the Penguin Newsletter

For the latest books, recommendations, author interviews and more