The Sugar Lacey series

by 2 books in this series
#2 - This Bitter Earth
#2 - This Bitter Earth
The sequel to Bernice L. McFadden's incredible classic debut and the Richard and Judy 2021 Book Club pick, Sugar

In This Bitter Earth, Sugar Lacey is on her way out of Bigelow, Arkansas, where she'd come to break with the past. With her worn leopard-print suitcase and her head held high, she walks past the prying eyes of its small-minded, cruel-hearted townsfolk, praying for the strength to keep going. She doesn't stop until she arrives at her childhood home in Short Junction. Here she learns the truth about her parentage: a terrible tale of unrequited love, of one man's enduring hatred, and of the black magic that has cursed generations of Lacey women.

A powerfully realised novel that brings back the unforgettable characters from Sugar, McFadden's bestselling debut, This Bitter Earth is a testament to the ultimate triumph of the human spirit.

Reader reviews for Sugar

'Such an enjoyable read... beautifully written, raw and impactful'
'Riveting, heart-breaking'
'Very powerful, poignant'
'Beautifully written... brutal and moving... a must read book'
'Well-written with rich characters and many twists and turns'
'So descriptive yet easy to read, and it made me fall in love with all the characters'
Sugar
Sugar
Sugar is young, confident and hoping to start over.

'Poignant and bittersweet, this novel is a joy' Richard & Judy

When she arrives in the southern town of Bigelow, it isn’t long before the neighbourhood is alight with gossip and suspicion. Sugar fears her past is catching up with her. Then she meets Pearl, a woman trying to forget her own trauma. As these next-door neighbours become unlikely friends, they wonder if their lives could finally be changing for the better. But small towns have long memories.

Perfect for fans of Demon Copperhead and The Bluest Eye, Sugar is a classic waiting to be rediscovered.

'Riveting... Searing and expertly imagined' TONI MORRISON on The Warmest December by Bernice L. McFadden

'A page-turning novel guaranteed to be looked back on as a timeless classic'
INDEPENDENT

'This book is so engaging and beautiful and intriguing and satisfying that I could not put it down' ELLE


Readers are falling for Sugar

'Such an enjoyable read... beautifully written, raw and impactful'
'Riveting, heart-breaking'
'Very powerful, poignant'
'Beautifully written... brutal and moving... a must read book'
'Well-written with rich characters and many twists and turns'
'So descriptive yet easy to read, and it made me fall in love with all the characters'

Sign up to the Penguin Newsletter

For the latest books, recommendations, author interviews and more