Black Joy

Black Joy

Summary

Black joy is . . .

The babble and buzz of the barber shop.
Chicken and chips after school with your girls.
Stepping foot in your mother country for the very first time.
Feeling at one with nature.
Learning to cook souse with your mum.
Connecting with the only other Black colleague in your workplace.
Loving and finding complete happiness in your fatness.

Joy surrounds us. It can be found it in the day to day. It's what we live for. So why do we so rarely allow ourselves to revel in it? This must-read anthology is your invitation to do so - and is a true celebration of Black British culture in all its glory.

Edited by award-winning journalist, and former gal-dem editor-in-chief, Charlie Brinkhurst-Cuff and up-and-coming talent Timi Sotire, twenty-eight iconic voices speak on what Black joy means to them in this uplifting and empowering anthology.


With essays from:

Munya Chawawa -- Leigh-Anne Pinnock -- Diane Abbott -- Jason Okundaye --Bukky Bakray -- Faridah Àbíké-Íyímídé -- Lavinya Stennett -- Henrie Kwushue Chanté Joseph -- Travis Alabanza -- Isaac James -- Sophia Tassew -- Lauryn Green -- Melz Owusu -- Timi Sotire -- Fope Olaleye -- Richie Brave -- Tope Olufemi -- Athian Akec -- Mikai Mcdermott -- Ife Grillo -- Rukiat Ashawe -- Mayowa Quadri -- Tobi Kyeremateng -- Haaniyah Angus -- Theophina Gabriel -- Ruby Fatimilehin -- Vanessa Kissule


Discover this exciting, much-needed celebration of Black culture perfect for readers of Feminists Don't Wear Pink, Slay in Your Lane and Love in Colour.

---

"A refreshing and invigorating burst of joy, exploring the beauty in the nuances of our existence, honing in on what propels us forward, and establishing a vital hope" - Bolu Babalola, author of Love in Colour

"Every bit as joyous as the title suggests'" - Candice Carty-Williams, author of Queenie

"A rich, gorgeous celebration of the power in embracing joy" - Liv Little

"Black Joy is a delightful celebration of Black Britishness" - Mashable


Reader praise for Black Joy

"This collection was INCREDIBLE. It made me laugh, made me cry and made me consider the joy there is to be found in the Black experience, something that is so often missing from media representations. I am not sure how else to review this book, apart from to say that everyone should read it. Everyone. 5 out of 5. Wonderful. Perfect. A breath of fresh air. A book that everyone needs." - Netgalley reviewer


'Black Joy merits a wide readership. It is a window into a world that too often goes unseen and unheard. There is real joy out there. Count yourself lucky if you get to share it.' - Netgalley reviewer

'Lots of beautiful memories and moments of joy. Recommended if you've always wanted a view into a different life or if you just want a little joy in your life for a while.' - Netgalley reviewer

'Black Joy is a beautiful anthology, reminding us of where we find joy in our lives . . . An uplifting and informative read for young people and anyone looking for fresh perspectives on life and culture today.' - Netgalley reviewer

'It's made apparent right away that Black joy is a fundamental act of resistance - an act of defiance against the ostensible prerequisite for pain before joy that faces the Black British community . . . a manifesto of sorts' - Netgalley reviewer


Reviews

  • A refreshing and invigorating burst of joy, exploring the beauty in the nuances of our existence, honing in on what propels us forward, and establishing a vital hope
    Bolu Babalola, author of Love in Colour

About the author

Various

Learn More

Sign up to the Penguin Newsletter

For the latest books, recommendations, author interviews and more