The Orphan of Farthing Street

The Orphan of Farthing Street


Discover the heartwarming and uplifting story of a young orphan's survival in wartime London

London, 1934.

Growing up in poverty on Farthing Street, fourteen-year-old Amy Carter is no stranger to hardship.

But when her father is hanged for murder and her mother dies suddenly soon after, orphaned Amy is in danger of being left homeless and unloved.

Until one day, Amy's luck changes and she is taken in by Ben, an artist, and his kindly landlady, Mrs Dalton.

Welcomed into the hearts of the residents of Mrs Dalton's home, Amy flourishes under their care and devotion. So when, five years later, she catches the eye of handsome doctor John Sterling, she almost believes she has left her past - and its troubles - behind her.

Yet a gathering storm is threatening England. The prospect of war can shatter even the most charmed life. And for Amy, the bombs are still to fall . . .

**Previously published as One Step at a Time**

Praise for Beryl Matthews:

'A heartwarming and uplifting tale' Daily Express

'Catherine Cookson fans will love this' Woman's Own


  • A heartwarming and uplifting tale
    Daily Express

About the author

Beryl Matthews

Beryl Matthews is the beloved and bestselling author of The Winter Child (previously The Open Door), The Orphan of Farthing Street (previously One Step at a Time), Her Mother's Daughter (previously A Time of Peace) and The Spitfire Sweetheart (previously Wings of the Morning).

She grew up in a family of avid readers and writes from experience. Amongst other jobs, she has worked at an aircraft factory and as a credit controller.

Beryl published her first book at the age of 71 after joining a writers' group and has since written over twenty novels. Her hobbies include travelling, swimming and golf, but writing is her first and foremost joy.
Learn More

Sign up to the Penguin Newsletter

For the latest books, recommendations, author interviews and more