University Tales

University Tales

A hilarious and nostalgic cosy novel for fans of James Herriot and Tom Sharpe

Summary

The delightful new novel from Jack Sheffield, author of the much-loved Teacher series.

York, 1988.

Dr Tom Frith is beginning his first term as a tutor at the University of Eboracum. After teaching primary school children for several years, he's sure shaping the minds of young adults will be a welcome change. But that's before considering the pressures he'll face outside the lecture hall, from helping three hapless students who've been surviving exclusively on porridge, to fielding inappropriate propositions from students chasing higher grades.

And then there's the particular challenge of Edna Wallop, the Acting Head of Faculty. Edna may have grand plans to overhaul the faculty's finances, but Tom can't help being suspicious of her methods...

Meanwhile, Tom meets Inger, an enigmatic Music tutor, and feels an instant spark. One thing's for sure: it's going to be an eventful year on campus, for tutors and students alike!

A hilarious, nostalgic and heart-warming novel about the trials and tribulations of life at a fictional Yorkshire university, perfect for fans of James Herriot and Tom Sharpe.
_

Praise for Jack Sheffield:


'Wry observation and heartwarming humour in equal measure' - Alan Titchmarsh

'Jack Sheffield is certainly top of the class with this heart-warming and feel-good series' - Western Morning News

'Reliably entertaining' - Choice

About the author

Jack Sheffield

Jack Sheffield grew up in the tough environment of Gipton Estate, in North East Leeds. After a job as a 'pitch boy', repairing roofs, he became a Corona Pop man before going to St John's College, York, and training to be a teacher. In the late seventies and eighties, he was a headteacher of two schools in North Yorkshire before becoming Senior Lecturer in Primary Education at Bretton Hall College of the University of Leeds. It was at this time he began to record his many amusing stories of village life as portrayed in Teacher, Teacher!, Mister Teacher, Dear Teacher, Village Teacher, Please Sir!, Educating Jack, School's Out!, Silent Night, Star Teacher, Happiest Days, Starting Over, Changing Times, Back to School and School Days. He lives in Hampshire.
Learn More

Sign up to the Penguin Newsletter

For the latest books, recommendations, author interviews and more